Cry Baby

That’s me, I am a big cry baby. I love a good cry. There are about ten or so movies that I watch, a lot, for a good cry. For the majority of these movies there is just one point, one place in the film that makes me weep like a baby. And the funny thing is I start tearing-up well prior to the scene just because I know it’s coming. For instance, The Color Purple, when Whoopi Goldberg’s kids coming running through the field…….tears. Antwone Fisher, when he meets his great-grandmother…….tears. Field of Dreams, when Kevin Costner ask his Dad if he wants to play catch…….tears.

I have always been an emotional guy, I wear them on my sleeve as the old saying goes. If I am pissed about something it’s shows on my face no hiding it. If I am hurt, embarrassed, or sad, same thing no real disguising it. I do not have a poker face, I have a happy face, mad face, sad face, tranquil face and a confused face. Unfortunately the face itself isn’t much to look at (George Clooney I am not) but you work with the gifts, or lack of gifts you were granted.

I am sorry that society, as a whole, frowns on men for showing their emotions (except for anger it seems, men are expected to get pissed off). I am not sure who started this whole “men are supposed to be tough” crap, it probably goes back to the caveman times, but I think the world would be a better place if men openly cried more often. A lot of the reason I love our current President, Barack Obama, is because he is not afraid to show his emotions, not only anger but sadness, empathy and compassion. My sense is that he is very sincere and these are his true feelings not simply staged for the cameras.

So for all you manly men out there, have a good cry. You will feel better.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Cry Baby

  1. Tony Burgess says:

    I have been known to ugly cry and weep. Dudes need to do that more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zac Gordon says:

    I feel you on this. Back when I was teaching high school I would dry heave and weep at even the cheesiest of Teacher movies. It just brought up such heavy emotion that weeping just busted out.

    I think it’s not even just the sad stuff but the expressing of all sorts of emotions and agreement on how this is definitely not something that has been encouraged in men in the past.

    But I’d say it takes some real courage for men to rock the tears, so in a way we are being strong in expressing ourselves, in part because of the past stereotypes and patterns..

    Slow clap for a good post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Advanced Research Technology says:

    There is an emotional side to a man. Most men are not balanced or strong enough to find it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sugar, Spice, Everything Nice says:

    My husband really didn’t show emotions well until our daughters came along…I think it makes him much more attractive to me that he is strong enough to do so!

    Oh, and if you ever want a really good cry movie, check out “What Dreams May Come” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. True, I find men who show emotions and also express them, to be more authentic and sincere …much more close to their true Self

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Smartygirl41 says:

    Oh I have a movie that gets me everytime. My Life with Michael Keaton and Nicole Kidman. I’m a blubbering fool through pretty much the whole film. My ex use to cry to movies and I thought it was perfectly normal and moving. Cry away my friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have done a few posts regarding tears, emotion and men, I think it takes a strong man to cry, to have found his emotions and not opérate from ego, you also feel so good after,it’s a great stress reliever, holding tears back just build up more emotional pressure, there are also happy tears !! they are great as well…………………………..
    Brooke

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Patty says:

    Couldn’t agree more 😉
    But now I’m curious…what should woman do more by your opinion?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. samanthamurdochblog says:

    Nothing wrong with men crying. I brought both my sons up to be in touch with their emotions, my younger son and I saw “Hachi”- I thought it would be a happy animal story with the added bonus of Richard Gere for me…couldn’t leave the cinema till half an hour later as we snotted and blubbered and sobbed…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I used to see the stereotypical Italian men in movies that would weep during operas, and think “Man, I wish I could do that.” Expressing emotions is very hard for me. But the older I get, the easier it becomes.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Patricia says:

    There is a stigma for women also. If we show anger, we are bitches. So we cry out of frustration because a lady never raises her voice. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: The Pursuit of Happyness | Ends and Beginnings

Leave a comment