Keys

Over the last 30 years of the 50 plus that I have walked on this earth I have collected a lot of keys. I have a ring with about 35 to 40 keys on it that I keep in the glove compartment of my car. Of those, I know what about 5 of them unlock, I have a decent idea about the purpose of another 5, the other 30+ I got no clue what they go to. Now understand something about me, I hate keys. I hate carrying them around, I hate having them in my pocket and I hate hearing people jingle them. Do you get the picture, I do not have a love affair with keys, all this from a guy with 40 mostly random keys sitting in the glove compartment of his car for the last 30 years.

So the simple question is, why don’t I just throw away the ones I have no clue what they do or where they go? The simple answer is, I just can’t. Somehow, for some reason I believe one of those random keys will unlock something important. The obvious next question is, what could possibly be so important that I would keep up with a ring full of keys for 30 years…….nothing.

Once a year I look at each one of them and wonder if they unlock something magical, a door to a special place that I have forgotten. I hold each one between my fingers waiting for some memory, some moment of the past to wash over my being. But there is never any wave of magic just the realization that I have too many damn keys without a purpose or a lock to call home.

I know in my heart and my head that those keys aren’t holding the world together, that they can’t possibly unlock anything important or something that I need or have been missing for 30 years. What they are really doing is taking up valuable space not only in my glove box but in my life.

There are so many things I need to let go of, past regrets, worries about the future, hurt and anger. Maybe the easiest place to start is with 40 keys.

“People have a hard time letting go of their suffering. Out of a fear of the unknown, they prefer suffering that is familiar.” – Thich Nhat Hanh

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Keys

  1. Farouq Taj says:

    Being able to let go of the past is important in being able to make progress moving forward in life. Those keys are like the anchor of a ship. Try throwing away one key a week and see how that goes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was absolutely beautiful. Totally blown away. I was in love with every word.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. fayteorchid says:

    I love keys. I have a few skeleton ones. As a writer they inspire me. I think keys hold magic of memories. Even if I am not sure what that magic is or what lock it will open. They might not open anything at all just a place in the mind. Thanks for the post it made me think.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kmalivuk says:

    Recycle, my friend. The brass those keys hold may well buy you a good cup of coffee. Sitting by a window, looking out at the rain with a steaming cup will remind you that not all ballast is necessary. Thanks for liking my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

