Ends and Beginnings

The name of my blog is Ends and Beginnings. The reason for this is simple, everyday our life is full of endings and beginnings. Unfortunately most of us just don’t seem to get or accept it or as Mister Rogers so eloquently articulated “Often when you think you’re at the end of something, you’re at the beginning of something else.”

Not everyone admits this fact and quite honestly ignoring this simple truth can and will make your life miserable. I certainly have fought this truth a time or two. So whether you are more comfortable with “When God closes a door, He opens a window” or my personal favorite “The World is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be the beginning” (Ivy Baker Priest) know that in every moment of your life something is ending or headed for a conclusion. Likewise, there is potentially something new getting ready to happen as a beginning.

Buddha taught that the cause of our individual suffering is due to attachment, not having the ability or the interest in letting go. We assume that all things, situations, emotions are permanent when everything is in-fact impermanent including our physical self. Holding on to what will invariably end creates worry, doubt and fear (Dukkha). Ignoring the facts of impermanence doesn’t lessen the suffering it simply prolongs it, taking up valuable space in your life, space that you need for new beginnings.

I have an ending happening this week. It’s something I should have concluded years ago but pride and ego have gotten in my way. This is not a life changing, earth shattering end, but one I should have remedied before now. It had become a burden, actually an expensive and emotional burden. But now it’s ending and I can feel and see the space it has occupied for too long, space ready to be occupied by something new. There is real freedom in letting go, of moving forward. The weight of letting go can’t be measured in pounds but in seconds, hours and days. When you get to be my age these are more valuable commodities than money.

Some endings are hard and certainly endings can be very sad and heartbreaking. You should never ignore the emotions or the grief of an ending, just don’t spend the rest of your life giving it space.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ends and Beginnings

  1. I have had many endings in my life, crippling endings of relationships with people and from that I have discovered that all those endings where necessary in order for me to begin my own life rather than be attached to someone else, it’s a solitary struggle for sure, but a necessary one, thank you for this piece it has confirmed in me that despite the struggles an ending sometimes can be a right and good one.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. backedopinion says:

    I enjoyed reading this. Very inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ‘The only thing constant in life is change’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

