So many things in life are just ballast

“So many things in life are just ballast”- Giselle. This was a comment left on my blog by a reader. For those of you unfamiliar with the term, Wikipedia defines Ballast as “material that is used to provide stability to a vehicle or structure. Ballast, other than cargo, may be placed in a vehicle, often a ship or the gondola of a balloon or airship, to provide stability.”  

On modern ships, water is used as ballast in tanks in a ship’s hull to improve its stability. Depending on a ships load and weather conditions water is moved in or out of the ballast tank to balance a ships movement through the water. In the old days, anything heavy could and would be used a ballast, including people, and would be discarded, including people, if the ship was listing or sinking under the weight of its load.

I thought about Giselle’s comment wondering what I used as ballast in my life. I am sure each of us has our own David Letterman “Top 10 Life Ballast List” so I thought I would share five of mine and I encourage you to share your own. What is your ballast? What is the heavy material in the hull of your life that provides you with stability, keeps your life from listing, keeps you from sinking?

My Top 5 Ballast List 

  1. My family
  2. My home
  3. My garden
  4. My books
  5. My bicycles

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to So many things in life are just ballast

  1. Patty says:

    My husband, my dogs, my home, my garden, my loved ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rachel Tey says:

    I love the ballast imagery – I use “anchor” as a mental image.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Quq Balam says:

    Thank you for liking my most recent post, but I have to ask, did you actually read it? Because it doesn’t seem like you did as I intended it as a parody of New Age rhetoric about “Eastern” religions, only this time applied to Christianity.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My home, my dog, my books, myself ? , my family

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

