The Actions of Others

Karma

I try to practice what I preach; love, compassion, tolerance and respect. But my capacity for those sentiments and actions got poked with a sharp stick recently. Some piece-of-shit Roofied something dear and precious to me. If you are unfamiliar with the term Roofie, it is also commonly referred to as the date-rape drug. It is a drug slipped in unsuspecting victims drinks to render them unconscious or incapacitated.

This could have ended very badly. Any number of scenarios could have played out, rape, physical abuse, severe injury, or even death. We were lucky, though not unscathed. This random act of violence and yes that is the appropriate label for this action, shook me to my core. You realize, very quickly, how fragile our existence is and how one seemingly random act could change the course of your life’s trajectory. We can’t control the actions of others, we can only hope our lives don’t intersect with their recklessness.

So to the piece-of-shit that tried to hurt someone I love, someone that means more to me than my own existence, Karma is a bitch dude.

“If you’re really a mean person you’re going to come back as a fly and eat poop.” – Kurt Cobain

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Actions of Others

  1. Patty says:

    Terrible! So sorry to read this story and so sorry for your precious one 😦
    Now I know why I don’t like flies 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Smartygirl41 says:

    That’s horrible, I’m so glad to hear your friend was not seriously harmed (physically that is). Some people truely are pieces-of-shit

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This happened to my friend and it was heartbreaking because she was too ashamed to go to the police even though someone else did it to her she felt like it was HER fault for letting it happen. Some people are truly disgusting in their actions.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Oh my goodness, I would be terribly rattled, too.
    Lately, I’ve often thought of how little it takes to hurt, violate, or kill someone, and how this could happen to my son and/or I.
    Sad times and societies we’re living in!
    I love the quote at the end of your blog! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: April is Sexual Assault Awareness and Prevention Month | What I Know Now

  6. My heart hurts when reading about what happened to your loved one. The older I get (and I’m now older than dirt) the harder I find it to understand how we can hurt others as we do. A life of peace, love, and understanding makes living so much more rewarding.
    Thank you for your “like” on my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hard to be a father, 2,000 miles away, on the phone at 3 am with your child, and can’t hug them and make it better, or beat the shit out of the person who caused this damage. Thank you reading and for the follow. Please feel free to share your thoughts any time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

