How am I doing?

Over my business career I have started, ran and sold two successful businesses. Each of these companies had a mission, a purpose; to provide a service that others (customers) found beneficial enough to pay for and return as repeat customers in the future. Now, I am a consultant and in my spare time I post my thoughts on this blog.

I made my first post on March 15, 2016, 30 days ago. I didn’t have any particular goals or expectations when I started. I like to write, not sure I am any good at it, but I do enjoy it. I thought maybe this would be a good way to refine the craft. My process is simple, stuff pops-up in my head at 2 am and I try to remember it by the time the sun comes up. When I am awake and get settled, I take my two typing fingers and hammer it out on the keyboard, press a button and some of you, on this odd little universe called WordPress, read it. Some of you also bless me with an encouraging comment or two.

I have also had the occasional not so encouraging comment from one or four of our good and righteous Christian friends who take acceptation to my views on the LGBT community and “their” faith in general. One of these faithful informed me recently that I was headed to hell because of my beliefs, if that is the case I hope he saves me a seat. I love the delete comment feature.

So as I write all this it dawned on me, unlike the companies I started, this blog doesn’t have a defined mission, purpose or direction and honestly that makes me a little anxious. I started out just writing for my own entertainment, I didn’t actually think anyone would see it let alone read what I wrote but surprisingly people have. Now, I feel a little pressure to deliver a good “product”, maybe I shouldn’t but I do.

I look occasionally at the stat pages to see “how am I doing” but I don’t know “how I am doing” because I have nothing to compare it too. In 30 days I have accumulated the following statistics;

  1. 37 total post
  2. 306 followers
  3. 2,506 views
  4. 1,082 visitors
  5. 840 likes

So what am I looking for? A little affirmation for my insecure self. How am I doing? Is it okay for me to just type out these random thoughts rattling around in my head with my two fingers or should refine and define where I am going? Is it enough that I entertain myself and if one or two of you in the WordPress universe find what I write worthy of reading so be it? Thanks for your indulgence.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to How am I doing?

  1. You are doing amazing! I’ve been blogging off and on for two years and don’t have add many likes and follows. And, I love reading your posts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gina Marie says:

    I found your blog as you liked one of my blog entries, and much like you I am always surprised when someone actually reads what I write. I applaud your stance on LGBT Christians, for selfish reasons perhaps, but know that you’re not alone in the negative comments realm. I also enjoy your entries and have read several; you articulate your thoughts well and – perhaps more important to me – make me think. Thank you for that! So, you get a thumbs up from me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. vlmrhm says:

    Do we always need a purpose? Do we always need a result? Sometimes we do, sometimes we don’t. Sometimes writing is just to figure things out for ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. vlmrhm says:

    Been there, done that, have the t-shirt. Chuckle, chuckle. For I am learning I can just be. Not always have an agenda. I am for me learning to let go of things that I might use to define my worth. You know what I mean? Anyway, have a really grrrrreat day.

    Like

  5. Lorna D. Keach says:

    As a writing teacher, let me say that I think it is absolutely valuable to blog, even when there may not be a defined purpose. Blogging allows us to consider audience in the way personal journals don’t, and that really helps people develop their voice. Keep it going, I say! ^_^

    Liked by 2 people

  6. janaknmistry says:

    self analysing is so very much needed. I used to do that but I don’t know for some reason have stopped it. Thank you the insight and a gentle reminder on gauging my effort and monitoring my activities. Thank you for enjoying my post too. Have a good day and the coming weekend. Cheers !

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Patty says:

    I blog and write on the internet about a decade now and it is indeed easier if you have a purpose. My ‘weakness’ is that I find so many subjects interesting, but off course don’t have the time to address them all.
    Good luck in finding your way in the WP-world. After what I’ve read so far, no doubt you will keep sharing with us beautiful posts 😉
    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

