Death and Taxes

I wish April only had 29 days. As the cowardly lion proclaimed, “If I were king of the forest” April would be days 1-14 and then 16-30. Yes, no April 15th.

Each year I amazed at what a good year the IRS thinks I have had, sadly I have none of the trappings. Now keep in mind, in the bright red state where I reside I wear a badge of scorn because I am a “liberal” Democrat. Never mind that I consider myself a fiscal conservative albeit I am more socially liberal than the vast majority of my friends and neighbors. But I continue to fail to see how my political leanings should make me feel any better about April 15th, they don’t.

My Republican friends claim that because I am a Democrat I encourage and support big government. That’s bullshit, the great and holy Ronald Reagan supported big government as well the difference is his big government was in support of all of his buddies in the defense industry. Big government is big government no matter which side of the balance sheet it falls on.

But back to April 15th, I understand the need to pay taxes my problem is and always has been the 30 pages of calculations it requires. Here is the thing, if it takes 30 pages of ciphering by someone I have to pay $150 an hour it is too complicated and certainly not efficient.

Presidential candidate, the great Donald Trump, boasted during a campaign speech recently that he fully exploits the tax code to pay as little as possible to the government. He stated; “I mean, I pay as little as possible. I use every single thing in the book. And I have great people.” Here’s what this statement tells me, the tax code has too many loopholes to exploit. Trump pays lip service to making the tax code less complicated because that is what Middle Americans want to hear. But rest assured, if by some miracle upon miracles he is elected President the tax code will have the same makeover given to it by the Bushes and Reagan, none. This proclamation will fade into the background like the vast majority of his other positions.

What is the solution? Well mine is real simple, eliminate April 15th from the calendar and see how that works for a while.

Happy Tax Day.

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Death and Taxes

  1. I totally support the removal of days you don’t like from the calendar…top of my list would be my birthday…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

