After the song

To look at me you probably wouldn’t guess that I am a Prince fan. I would bet on appearances alone you would peg me for a country music fan, probably listening to Toby Keith or Alan Jackson. But no, this balding, middle-age man has no country stations programmed on his car radio but an abundance of Prince on his iPod.

It really shouldn’t surprise anyone. Prince was older than me and Purple Rain come out when I was still a frat boy, all be it at the tail end of my frat days, chasing or being chased by sorority girls who were ready to settle down and bring a nice boy home to Momma. Little did I know when I first heard the album at a Saturday night mixer that my days were numbered as an unattached, playing the field frat rat…yes when the woman of your dreams comes along the music changes, quickly.

Over Prince’s short but prolific life he was known for his obsessive need for privacy. For such a public personality who released 39 studio albums and played an untold number of live performances both planned and unexpected, we knew very little about him. Living in Minnesota, far away from the bright lights and tabloids, he appeared to go to great lengths to guard his privacy, as did the people within his inner circle. But all that changed on April 21st.

Death is the great equalizer. Why? Because we are all going to die. I can’t play the guitar like Prince, write a song with a catchy hook, hell I can’t even look as good as he did at 57 but I am going to die and that is the one thing all of us have in common. We are all going to die, ready or not, work finished or not, prepared or not.

I think about the indignity Prince would have felt laying naked on top of a cold stainless steel table as complete strangers performed the autopsy on his 5’ 2” frame. Whatever plans and efforts he made in the past to keep the public at bay, his life shielded from the public’s prying eyes ended with his death. We will learn more about Prince over the coming months and years. We have already been told of his countless and selfless acts of philanthropy, graciousness he did not want us know about. But we will also hear about his dirty laundry and more than likely see an ugly struggle over his estate and his music, the so-called “vault” of unreleased material. No amount of planning can prevent the human nature of greed or vengeance.

I live by the mantra “Everything happens for a reason”. I am so married to this thought you would think I had it tattooed on my ass. I firmly believe that the good and the great, the bad and the devastating that occurs in our life has a purpose. That purpose may be difficult to see or understand but there is a rhyme to the reason and it has nothing to do with control.

I guess the question we all need to ask ourselves is do we really control anything if we can’t control the beginning or the end? Do you have the answer? Better still, can you live a happy life knowing the answer? Let go, breathe slowly and enjoy the short ride.

“Our anxiety does not come from thinking about the future, but from wanting to control it.” – Kahlil Gibran

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to After the song

  1. Tony Burgess says:

    Privacy is a luxury for those in the public eye. For him it was more about music than fame but those two are linked for those special people.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Patty says:

    Taking control in letting go, breathing slowly and enjoying the short ride 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • No matter how hard you squeeze, life, like water will slip through our grip. Happens to me everyday.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Patty says:

        I understand where you’re coming from, but I wonder…Does that happen, because we let it happen? Or maybe it has something to do with perception of ‘slipping’. Does it really slip through? Or is it just an human emotion, which we can change, so it won’t feel like that?
        Aaaaaarch, questions, questions 😉

        Liked by 2 people

        • So you want to get deep Ms. Patty, okay let’s go. Perception, whose? Yours or mine? I start off with the most basics of questions, are we really here and what is here? Is here simply the perception of a place or is here the perception of an emotion? And if it is an emotion can I control the emotion or does the emotion control me? And greater still, does the emotion control the perception? I am going to take a nap now or maybe I am going to wake-up….hmmmmm. 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

          • Patty says:

            Oh yes, let’s go deep 😉 But I’ll have to come back later today, since a part of our roof is leaking, right above our bedroom. Didn’t sleep much last night, since I discovered it late in the evening. Had to move our sleeping gear and forgot to heat the other room. Brrrrr it was cold.
            Anyway…talk to you soon!

            Liked by 1 person

          • Patty says:

            Here I am again (the roof is fixed, Yippee ! ) Virtually that is 😉
            In general, here for me is physically here at this planet. If someone is mentally here at this planet, that differs per person I think 😉
            I do believe emotions can be controlled, Perceptions are personal, but like emotions can be influenced and controlled. By yourself or by others. And yes, they will influence one another.
            I agree with you, you can’t control when your time is up, but you can control, influence, manage how you spend the time up to that end. I also believe more and more, you can influence the length of the time you have here – physically – at this planet.
            It’s all about choices. Choices you make at any given moment. The key is to don’t ever regret a choice you make, since in the moment you make a decision/choice, in that moment it’s the right one. If the next minute, day, week, year the choice you made doesn’t feel right anymore, make a new choice.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Wise words Ms. Patty with a dry roof over your head. It’s hard to think “deep” when your brain is soggy. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          • Patty says:

            Thanks 🙂
            That’s why I’ve CHOSEN to respond not earlier as today 😛
            But in all honesty; I don’t know if my words are wise. It’s just my view on ‘things’ and I still find it difficult at times myself ‘to practice what I preach’.
            I’m not a holy bean 😉

            Liked by 1 person

          • None of us are love, and those that think they are, Franklin Graham, I believe are in for a big surprise.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. I think Prince was a creative being. Most creative individuals crave solitude and thankfully like you said he was able to attain it for a moment. I personally think that things you do to help others should be kept between you and that individual, but he made you see that there is more to life than trying to keep up with the jones or fit into a nice neat box. Life is about making contributions to help others, learning something new and expounding on it until you make a change and most importantly just forget about what everybody feels and it is ok to be who you are.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I liked Prince’s music, it went quite nicely with the angst and drama of my teenage years.. death is certainly the great leveller, and it always shocks me when a celebrity dies, as if their wealth and status should render them inviolable. The airing of dirty laundry is inevitable, but I choose to remember the good…this is a genuine question , I would appreciate your answer as I am still searching- I can see how we control the end, but is the beginning ours to control?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Some of us, I would venture a very small percentage may be able to control some aspects of our end. But the overwhelming majority of us will not. What we spend our entire life doing is trying to control the middle, your beginning here was pot-luck, you had just as great of a chance of not being here as you had of being here. My point is this, and the life insurance salesmen of the world would take me to task for this, unless you commit suicide, you can’t control the start or the end of your life so why not loosen up your grip on the middle? I lost a friend today to cancer. It was a slow and agonizing decline for him and his family. He couldn’t control the end, he could manage it, but managing is very different from controlling. I know that he counted each day as a blessing. 6 months ago he thought he had 3 months left. He got 90 extra days to spend with his wife, kids and grand-kids. If you had asked him he would tell you that each one of those 90 days were the best days of his life….one day at a time, breathe slowly, enjoy what you have, as you have it.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. mwdunham says:

    I enjoyed how you tied in this aspect of life we’re all bound to to living freely.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

