Reflections: The WordPress – sserPdroW ehT

What I have learned 45 days, 63 post, 3,696 views, 1,411 likes later about this weird little universe called WordPress;

  1. I have encountered an incredible number of very positive and supportive people. Not everyone agrees with my point of view which I am okay with provided you disagree tastefully, but for the most part everyone has been very respectful. The few that have been “ugly” to me, as my mother would say, I can simply delete with a smile and move on (what a nice feature).
  1. There appears to be more women posting than men which doesn’t really surprise me. Having grown-up in home full of women and been the husband/father in a house full of women I realize that the female sex is much better at sharing their emotions than the cavemen some of us imagine we are (just rub some dirt on it). If you read my post this might explain why it seems I write with equal parts of estrogen and testosterone at times. I make no apologies for my feminine side, honestly I embrace it. What I lack in fashion sense (zip-zero-none) I make-up with the empathy and compassion I learned from the women in my life.
  1. I have read hundreds of very interesting post from other people. Most seem very genuine and unpretentious, others appear to just like to hear themselves talk (or rant). I try to avoid reading or liking the post of people who think of themselves as “experts” on a particular subject. I figure if you already know-it-all I really can’t help you and you can’t help me.
  1. There is a lot of humor on WordPress but there also seems to be an equal amount of sadness and hurt. Balance is important in life and I am the poster child for preaching the middle way, but my hope, not only for me, but for my family and for you is that the scale will always tip more towards happiness rather than sadness.
  1. I am impressed with the number of young, smart and compassionate people here. Many of them seem very engaged with both current and impending issues and events. This gives me hope for the future.

In 63 post I have thrown a lot of “stuff” out into the blog-o-sphere. Some of it has stuck and struck, some of it just withered and died. It is interesting to me what readers like and what others simply brush off. If there is a formula for blogging success I haven’t figured it out but that’s okay. The handful of you that read what I write and share your comments means the world to me. It is enough to keep me going for a little while longer. When I feel like I am talking to myself or I have run out of “stuff” to share, I’ll stop. Until that time, thank you for reading and taking the time to share your thoughts with me in this weird little universe called WordPress.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Reflections: The WordPress – sserPdroW ehT

  1. I think this post is fantastic, the explanation of yourself and the blogosphere is so interesting, I really enjoyed reading it, from the beginning right to the end. I agree with you and think that there are some really nice people out there who have a lot to share, young and older (more mature as I like to put it) no seriously great post. Thank you
    Brooke

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What an insightful post! Currently reading from my phone but will check out your site later today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lively Life says:

    I love this! Never read anything like it in all the four years I’ve been in this universe.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts, especially your stories with your dogs (as I am a huge dog lover). I thought this was a very insightful post and matched a lot of my own discoveries since I started on wordpress just over a month ago as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As a novice “blogger” myself I agree, you hear from some really interesting people and share their insights. You write interesting posts that I am compelled to comment on, but I am also learning…(just ordered some religion/philosophy books…I may have questions…)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Smartygirl41 says:

    You’re a fantastic writer, so I hope your time on WordPress in long-lived. Thanks for everything you share 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Word Press tells me I’ve been doing this for five years now. FIVE years – I can’t believe it. I started blogging because I’m a writer and my 20-something nephew insisted (how great is that, to have a 20-something nephew who likes my stories?!). I also started to have a venue for promoting my books (which as yet weren’t published – now I have two ‘out’ there). In the end, I’ve found blogging (once a week) a terrific way to share my stories with people throughout the world, and better yet, to read the stories written by people throughout the world. I have made FRIENDS through this WP site, even though I’ve never met most of my followers. And, I agree with you, I tend to follow those with a more optimistic view than those with a gripe to chew over and over again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I understand the “therapy” of getting shit off your chest. I am sure it helps a lot of people to verbalize what is troubling them. But then there are others who just seem pissed off at the world (and sometimes the people in it). Those are the ones I have a struggle with. My faith views are not going to appeal to everyone, heck maybe not anyone, which is fine. I am not trying to win converts to whatever I am following. But I have received some nasty remarks (going to burn in hell stuff) from some of our more “devout” followers of JC. Oh well, thank you reading and taking the time to comment. As I have said before, and will again, it really does mean the world to me.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Patty says:

    I’m certain I can learn a lot from you, so I’m happy to read you continue writing a little while longer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Reflections #2: The WordPress – sserPdroW ehT | Ends and Beginnings

Leave a Reply

