30 miles into the wind

My wife and I rode our bicycles last evening. It was a glorious afternoon with soft billowy clouds shielding the harsh heat of sun and low humidity, postcard perfect except for…..wind. Though I don’t understand it here is the physics of pedaling a bicycle, when you are going over 12 miles per hour (19.312 km/h for my foreign friends) you are “making” wind. So, if the wind is blowing 15 to 20 mph standing still, pedaling at 12 mph it feels like it is blowing….I can’t do that math but it sucks.

And here is the thing, I don’t pedal on average 12 mph, I pedal 16 to 18 mph on average so how much wind is blowing in front of me, on the side of me but never seemingly behind me to push me forward, again the math is beyond my limited cerebellum capacity, a butt load is a wonderful description, but rarely enough for me to park my bicycle (maybe push me over).

“When we long for life without difficulties, remind us that oaks grow strong in contrary winds and diamonds are made under pressure.” – Peter Marshall

I have led a relativity charmed life. This is not to say I haven’t had my stumbles or falls. I have had worse than a few skint knees and a couple of black eyes befall me. Some of my falls have lasted longer than I would have liked, some of my stumbles I am still dealing with, but all in all, I am okay. It would be easy for me to only ride my bicycle in the most ideal conditions. But out of 365 days, how many days would that be? I would venture to guess not enough to justify owning an expensive bicycle, okay three expensive bicycles.

Just a quick aside for you cycling enthusiast, the optimum number of bicycles to own is n + 1, where n equals the number of bikes your wife (or husband) will let you own plus one more (Rule #12).

We can’t hide from the wind, we can’t hide from the difficulties of life. There are always going to be days when the wind is howling in our face, maybe more days than when the wind is gently blowing at our backs pushing us home. The point here is, it’s never perfect, it’s never easy, it’s never charmed, it’s simply living. Because what is the opposite of living? Get it?

“What is a fear of living? It’s being preeminently afraid of dying. It is not doing what you came here to do, out of timidity and spinelessness. The antidote is to take full responsibility for yourself – for the time you take up and the space you occupy. If you don’t know what you’re here to do, then just do some good.” – Maya Angelou

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 miles into the wind

Leave a Reply

