Bird Love

I have had a wonderful bird year to date. Finally, in a bluebird box I built five years ago, I have a nesting pair of Bluebird’s with three very active chicks. I also have a lovely pair of Brown Thrashers nesting in my primrose bush guarding four eggs. And as they have for the last twelve years our Barred Owl couple have had two cute chicks who are just as fascinated with our five pound cat as previous years chicks have been. I am never sure if they see her as an easy meal or are just entertained watching her stalk chipmunks at dusk.

I live in the city, very close to our downtown but I have tried to create a habitat of large shrub covers, old oaks, feeders and water sources that encourage birds to nest and visit. Having dogs and a cat makes it difficult at times but it can also be entertaining.

One of my two dogs is a Rhodesian Ridgeback. When he stands on his hind-legs he is five feet tall just about the height of the Brown Thrasher nest in the bush. Smart guy has figured out that he can stand-up against our swing post and look mama bird right in the eye. Fortunately he can’t bother the nest but Ms. Thrasher doesn’t know that and she dive bombs him all over the yard until he retreats to the patio. He is a good looking fellow but dumb as a bag of rocks because he keeps coming back for more and she is happy to give him all he wants.

Our Barred Owls are a special urban treat. We rarely see the adults, we certainly hear them but it’s the kids that give us so much pleasure. As I type this, one is sitting in the big oak closest to the house. As he or she coos outside my window, mom and dad keep the dialogue going I assume to keep tabs on where the kids are. Late in the evening I will sit on my porch and one or both of the chicks will fly in to watch me. I don’t know much about the lifespan of an owl but I have had these wonderful creatures in my trees for twelve years, I hope they will stay for future generations to come.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bird Love

  1. Lori Greer says:

    I loved reading about the owls in your backyard. What a special treat to watch them especially the owlets. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank Lori. They are funny, curious and playful creatures. When my oldest was 16 and driving that Summer’s crop of chicks would dive bomb her getting in and out of her car in the evening. They would make her scream. The catch phrase that summer was ‘stupid owls’. They only bugged her. We figured they were both males 🙂

      Like

  2. What a lovely variety you get! I don’t encourage birds because we have four cats, but I like to see them in my mother’s garden. (One dog- not bothered…)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Patty says:

    Have you always sit down and watched birds? The reason I ask, since I never ever could have imagine in my ‘teens’ I would love to watch birds doing their ‘thing’ at 43 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

