Silence is a sound

silence-vector-icons

When was the last time you heard silence?

As I sit typing this in the quiet of my home I hear someone mowing the grass in the rain. One of my two dogs letting out a single bark every five minutes or so. A bird is whistling in the holly bush next to my office window, cars are passing down the street and my two fingers are tapping a keyboard. If silence is a sound why don’t we get to enjoy it more often? Better still, why are there those of us who dread the sound of silence?

I had a college roommate (for only one semester, I figured out real quick the guy was Nucking Futs) who turned his television on the minute he walked into our dorm room. Unfortunately he couldn’t even sleep with it off and I couldn’t sleep with it on. I finally asked him one groggy morning why and his answer was very simple, it made him feel better, he liked the noise, he needed the noise.

We may all have our own definition of what silence equates too. Only hearing cricket’s chirp in the background may be your idea of silence. I will grant you this, it is the closest thing to silence I have heard in a while. Even when I am swimming and I dunk myself underwater for a moment there is still the noise of arms and feet splashing in the pool.

Is there a place that exist on this planet where we could find complete silence? Think about it, nothing, no wind blowing, no water rushing, no birds singing, no babies crying, no people breathing, just the sound of silence. I simply cannot imagine what that sounds like. I am not entirely sure I want too.

“Silence is also conversation.” –  Ramana Maharshi

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Silence is a sound

  1. Patty says:

    Me neither. I was thinking about this, during my morning walk and I think you will always hear a sound…your heartbeat, your breathtaking. Maybe only deaf people will never hear a sound? If I had to choose – and I hope I never have to – I would rather loose sight then hearing. Never be able to listen to music anymore, brrrrrrr
    Anyway, more pleasant thoughts; have a wonderful weekend !

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Patricia says:

    For some, silence brings thoughts, memories and fear that they don’t want to think, remember or feel. Often a child has experiences that cause them to have a need to fill the silence for the rest of their lives. I was that child and am only now at 63 learning that there can be silence and it is ok. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Silence is a sound-too | Ends and Beginnings

  4. I cherish silence. I’ve a little mantra that helps keep me silent.

    “When I have nothing to say, I say nothing”

    Like

Leave a Reply

