Quirks, idiosyncrasies, peculiarities, eccentricities

We were running late, at least in my mind. “What time do you want to leave?” she asks, “9:30” I reply. At 9:40 we are backing down the driveway, 10 minutes off my schedule.

Being on time is one of my quirks. Some would say I don’t like being late. Sorry, not being late is being there just in time, to much room for error. This little quirk of mine has caused many a huff and eye roll from one of the many women in my home over the years. Now I am down to just one, who you would think after all these years would be trained better. Calm down, I am just kidding, a little.

My list of quirky behavior is relatively short, I like my garage and workshop clean and organized. Not spotless, eat off the floor clean, just regular clean. Not so much the house, I leave shoes and clothes in just about every room. I leave papers, magazines, mail and cups on the floor next to my chair. My nightstand is stacked with books and papers. And “my side of the bathroom” is, well, different than “her side of the bathroom”. As you can imagine not everyone in my home finds these little habits enduring or cute.

I also like my car to be clean and organized. I hate riding around in a dirty car.I typically vacuum it out each week and spray a little air freshener that I keep in my glove box. This simple act just makes me feel better. It doesn’t make my trips any shorter or traffic any better it just makes my reaction to both easier to deal with in a clean car.

We all have our quirks, idiosyncrasies, peculiarities, and eccentricities. Some are worse or more pronounced than others. The key, I have found, is not to allow them to get in the way of living in the world or in the way of living with the important people in our world. My clean car quirk was impossible to maintain when my kids were younger. Wet red, blue and green Skittles will ruin the carpet and cloth seats of a new Ford Explorer but they will also occupy a five year old’s attention on a four hour trip to Grandmothers house.

We are all different, it’s what makes each of us special. But don’t let your “specialness” get in the way of living a life in peace and harmony with not only ourselves but with others as well. No clean car is worth that sacrifice.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quirks, idiosyncrasies, peculiarities, eccentricities

  1. Actually true! We all have our quirks but we shouldn’t allow them to get in the way of our relationships!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patty says:

    So true indeed.However, don’t change to much of that what makes you special…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am always on time, I hate waiting and I love organisation! Balance in everything…now I have the men in my household properly trained…! Great post, love the underlying message too, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

