A Memorial Weekend Thank you

The United States military draft ended on January 27, 1973, six years before I turned eighteen years old. My father, my grandfathers, my friends fathers, my friends grandfathers, for the most part, all served in some branch of the service.

For my father, military service wasn’t an option he was drafted I-A after the Korean War and prior to the escalation of the Vietnam War. My father’s short military tenure changed his life, taking him away from the small town farm and opening his eyes to a much bigger world filled with opportunities beyond picking cotton or working at the lumber mill. My Dad went on to have a very successful business career beyond his military service, it was his college as it was for millions of other young men at that time and place in our history.

I don’t always agree with the battles the United States wage. I think we poke our noses in situations, places and countries where it doesn’t belong too often and too quickly. But this fact doesn’t lessen my thanks and gratitude to the men and women who serve our country. We ask them to give up so much, more than the majority of us would be willing to sacrifice. They may not always understand why, they may not always agree, but they always carry on in the face of danger, away from their families, the comforts of home to protect our freedoms. They do this not because they have too like my father did but because they want to. They feel something, a need, Duty, Honor, Country. Thank you to those that have served in the past and serve today. Thank you!

“America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose our freedoms, it will be because we destroyed ourselves.” –  Abraham Lincoln

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Memorial Weekend Thank you

  1. I agree with you on US poking their noses in places where they shouldn’t be but then again the govt doesn’t tell us the real reasons behind their moves. When my son told me he wanted to join the Marines, because he felt he needed to, I didn’t understand but gave him the blessing to do so because I learned it’s his life/his choice – not mine to disagree with him. Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Interesting post that makes you think about the state of politics today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally agree, being English I know the atrocities we committed in the name of “Empire”…why can’t people just be nice to each other…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

