Random thoughts at 2 am-Blue Eyes

I have brown eyes, “sexy chocolate brown” as a former flame once described (sounded more fun when I was 19). They are my mother’s eyes. I once had my mother’s thick, wavy black hair as well. If you missed it, the operative word here is “once”.

It occurred to me at 2 am, the vast majority of the women I have been with, or dated, or longed for, or ended up with (I know “ended up with” doesn’t sound very flattering for the other person but it is all I could come up with at the moment) had or have blue eyes. It’s not that I am not attracted to brown eyed women, I am, for that matter I am attracted to brown skin women. I am still holding out hope that Kerry Washington knows I exist in her cosmos.

So what does this behavior say about me? Honestly, it may not say a damn thing other than I am a swallow, knuckle dragging Neanderthal that wanted to propagate my brown eye dominance on the world. If that is the case, the joke is on me, all my children have blue eyes. That’s right, none are graced with my “sexy chocolate brown” eyes or my thick, wavy black hair for that matter. My mother’s (who got it from her father) brown/black combo ends with me. Could it be, that brown eyed people are going the way of Dr. Seuss’s- Sneetches, “Now, the Star-Bell Sneetches had bellies with stars. The Plain-Belly Sneetches had none upon thars. Those stars weren’t so big. They were really so small. You might think such a thing wouldn’t matter at all.”

If any of you amateur Freudian sleuths want to take a stab at this one let me know. I really need to quit drinking diet coke after 6 pm.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Random thoughts at 2 am-Blue Eyes

  1. Kinda Bexy says:

    One word:
    “coincidence”
    1.
    a remarkable concurrence of events or circumstances without apparent causal connection.
    “it was a coincidence that sexy chocolate brown eyes at that time, loved persons with moonlight blue”
    synonyms: accident, chance, serendipity, fate, a twist of fate, destiny, fortuity, fortune, providence…
    2.
    the fact of corresponding in nature or in time of occurrence.
    “the coincidence of blue eyed love partners or sexy brown is purely coincidental”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting. I have brown eyes and brown skin, and I am married to someone with blue-eyes. However, our children have my brown eyes. My husband and I both wanted our children to have blue eyes, but I have grown to appreciate their brown eyes as well as my own. Brown eyes are beautiful and so are blue eyes; I really think it is all in the meaning you assign to those traits. Maybe it is the part of us that longs for something different, and the part of us that doesn’t feel like what we are and the features we possess are enough. Probably best not to over think such things.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely post! There’s something about the sleepless early morning that brings about the most interesting thoughts. G-uno

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Patty says:

    I have such thoughts under the shower, lol
    Maybe some of your grandchildren will inherit those sexy chocolate brown eyes and the black/brown combo legend will go on 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lively Life says:

    lol. and it’s diet at that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

