More Space-its okay not to talk

If you have spent anytime reading my post you know that “space” is a recurring theme. I spent this past Sunday cleaning out our garage, something I do about once a quarter. I am not an accumulator of stuff, I am an if I think I need it I will keep it, if it can be recycled I recycle it, if it could serve someone else’s needs I donate it. Cleaning and cleaning out creates, you guessed it, more space.

Now when it comes to my garage I don’t organize and clean to make room for more stuff I do it because I am anal retentive, obsessive compulsive nut about having a clean garage. It is a place I spend a lot of time, working on projects, bicycles, drinking a handcrafted cold beer, or just hiding from a pissed off woman. Sadly, for my wife, I don’t have the same compulsive behavior about our house, or our bathrooms, it’s a sickness, I know.

I love the concept, the thought of space. I have never met anyone who felt like they had too much, certainly I know people who think they don’t have enough. Space, for me, is physical, mental and spiritual. I like my space for all three and I work hard, very hard, to not only maintain the space I have but to create more.

I am not a big talker, I am not mute, but if I can use 10 words instead of 20 to tell you something I will. I am also a VERY slow and thoughtful talker, which means, a lot of people try to finish all of my sentences for me. Along those same lines, I am also okay sitting in a room with others in total silence. I am always amazed at how uncomfortable this makes people feel. I don’t need to listen to someone talk just for the sake of talking, taking up space. Unfortunately I have several people in my family who love the sound of their own voice (another reason I keep my garage clean). The pollution they can create by flapping their lips, typically about nothing, is a crime in my eyes. I have a punishment in mind for this offense but for the sake of good taste I will keep it to myself.

Sunday was a good day, a cool rainy day. After spending four hours cleaning and organizing, I hauled several items to Goodwill. When I returned home the wife was gone, the garage was clean, and the rain was giving my garden a well deserved soak. I unfolded my work stool, popped the top on a very cold Left Hand Milk Stout and listened to the rain patter on the driveway. For thirty minutes I found some much-needed space, then my phone rang………

“I think about that ’empty’ space a lot. That emptiness is what allows for something to actually evolve in a natural way. I’ve had to learn that over the years – because one of the traps of being an artist is to always want to be creating, always wanting to produce.” -Meredith Monk

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More Space-its okay not to talk

  1. As I’m getting older I find myself wanting to spend more time by myself with less “noise” around me. Good thing you de-cluttered your garage and found your sanctuary.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I find my “sanctuary” in so many places, my favorite, and certainly the most healthy, is on my bicycle 30 miles away from my home. I am riding 65 miles Saturday in the “sticks” as we call the country. The view will be cows, goats and pine trees for 4 hours. A lot of space, a lot of quiet, a lot of heavy breathing. Thank you for reading and sharing your space with me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. gapawa says:

    Space is frightening. Nature abhors a vacuum, and we hate it too. Always gotta fill er up, even if it is lots of horse manure, at least then we will have something to do (clean up or retool the manure)! Anything other than confronting the present moment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

