What’s your answer?

“Why do humans matter?”

Care to tackle it? Take your time…….

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to What’s your answer?

  1. We have a unique opportunity for a deep conscious love. ❤

    Like

  2. chris says:

    They don’t. They were not the first to arrive on this earth, and frankly they have treated it horribly. Humams will die off eventually, the sixth extinction is coming. Not that I want to die ir hate mankind, but the industrial revolution was the beginning of the end. So they actually do not matter. Their is a long list which i will gladly share if asked, but otherwise, its simple, theu do not matter.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. tmezpoetry says:

    Simply because we do. An intellectual answer will not subjugate the reason and an emotional one will not render itself false.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have two answers for you; one from me and one from my husband. My husband’s is one I think you’ll appreciate so I’ll leave that one for last.

    My answer is that humans matter because we are part of the animal kingdom, and we are part of this planet and by extension we are part of this universe. We are neither better nor worse than any part of this great mystery we call life. We have the capacity to love, fear, create, destroy, observe, learn, heal, and contaminate. We are capable of awe inspiring creation and devastating destruction. On a personal level, humans matter to me because I identify most with my fellow humans although we are all different we are all experiencers and we all have something to contribute to our shared experience.

    My husband’s answer: Humans matter because they are perfectly evolved to take care of cats.
    His serious answer: We’re Earth life’s best chance of escaping the planet before its destroyed.

    Thanks for giving us the opportunity to exercise our minds.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gina Marie says:

    Humans are…….broken. They are mean. They are self-serving and arrogant. They are selfish and judgmental. I am all those things, truly. Get me behind the wheel of a car and the ass in me multiplies. And yet…..realizing this is important. And allows me to see, perhaps not nearly often enough, humans display kindness. Compassion. Tolerance. Support. I yearn to manifest these things more often, especially when perhaps the recipient doesn’t quite deserve it. It is for moments such as these I believe humans matter. And the hope I have is, that these moments occur more often. In my own life (towards others) most of all.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Patty says:

    We are part of nature, therefore we matter in the cycle of life. How we fulfill our part, that’s a completely different story 😉
    Mosquito’s, that are living creatures, which have no purpose…I think…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. gapawa says:

    Humans matter because we are at the top of the food chain and we know that because the Bible says so. Well, actually, physically speaking we don’t really ‘matter’ because matter itself doesn’t even matter (quantum physics). Are we important? Well we certainly make the most noise..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

