We are cyclist, let us pedal

5 killed, 4 hurt: What we know about deadly truck-bicyclists crash in Kalamazoo

Over the last 10 years I have ridden my bicycle over 60,000 miles on roads I share with cars, trucks, motorcycles, and tractor-trailers. I have had a number of what I can only describe “as close calls” with vehicles over the years that range from mild inconveniences, to heart stoppers to shitting my shorts. I have been cussed at, had cigarettes flicked at me, horns blown, yelled at, swerved at and even had full cans of beer thrown at my head. I keep pedaling.

This tragedy in Kalamazoo, Mich. breaks my heart. These five cyclist were mothers and fathers, husbands and wives, brothers and sisters, friends and co-workers out doing what they enjoy, what they love, pedaling their bicycles. I think about the dangers every time my wife and I begin a ride. I have to balance the benefits, the enjoyment we derive from riding our bicycles against sharing the road with distracted drivers, angry drivers, drunk drivers, and impatient drivers. I keep pedaling.

I am cyclist, let me pedal. Let me pedal without having to defend myself. I will show you respect, I will be courteous. I will get off the road if I need to so you can pass me. I won’t run stop signs. I don’t try to purposely ruin your day or hold you up. I am doing what I love, we are doing what we love. Let me pedal, let us pedal.

What can you do? Pay attention, slow down, give yourself time to get to your destination, and put your phone down. These are all things that will save my life and guess what yours too. We are cyclist, let us pedal, let us live.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We are cyclist, let us pedal

  1. beuhappy says:

    Michigan native here, this tragedy is all so sad. But honestly I am surprised there isn’t more stories like this. Michigan is congested like most states, our big cities are full of bikers, some recreational, some college students, and plenty families. Ann Arbor and a few other cities in the area, are beginning to widen our roads, adding bike lanes, and letting the bikes have the right-a-way. I actually work in area where this is true, and it’s about darn time. We head north almost every weekend, the beauty of Michigan is viewed plenty by bikers on the winding roads. My heart stops for bikers as I see the Friday traffic blowing by bikers, unaware of the dangers or just not caring. It does not take long to slow down, wait for a clearing and pass safely. It’s sad you can not enjoy your hobby with out fear of death. Praying for the families!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am truly sorry for your community. My city is working very hard to become a top 10 “Bike Friendly” community. We have a couple of retired pros, a bike clothing company, a Pro Continental team headquartered here and still people bitch about cyclist.

      Like

Leave a Reply

