The View

Cows

People ask me all the time how I can devote so much time and money to cycling. The answer is real simple, the view.

Cycling is an expensive sport. Our bicycles cost $2,000 a piece. How do I justify spending that kind of money? I ride 5,000 miles a year, so my first year of riding my bike cost me forty cents a mile, the next year twenty cents a mile. In four years it’s paid for. Easy to justify.

The time I spend on a bicycle is the hardest thing for people to understand. I can typically cover 30 miles in about two hours and 60 miles in four to five hours depending on the terrain. So to ride 5,000 miles in a year will take me roughly 350 +/- hours. 350 hours, each year on a hard saddle, pedaling my big Lycra covered ass up even bigger hills. I understand why some people think I am Nuking Futs, hell sometimes I do too. But here is thing, look at the picture above, this is what I get to look at. I am not racing, I don’t get paid to do this so if I want to stop and watch the cows, or rescue a turtle, or have a cold beer, I can and I do.

I started riding a bicycle ten years ago and I will tell you with all sincerity it not only changed my life it probably saved my life as well. Physically and mentally I was not doing well and it’s funny to look back now and understand how fixing the physical part played an important role in fixing the mental part.

If you are even remotely thinking about riding a bicycle for exercise I highly recommend it (check with your Doctor first please). You don’t have to start out with a $2,000 bike, I didn’t. You don’t have to start out riding 30 miles, I couldn’t. What you can do and what you will get is a view like no other. The world looks very different when it is right in front of you and not behind a windshield going 45 miles per hour. Enjoy the view.

Turtle

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The View

  1. Belinda O says:

    I haven’t ridden a bicycle since I was eleven years old — that’s (gulp) 45 years — and someday I’m going to test the saying, “just like riding a bike.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I never learned to ride a bike-no sense of balance but you make it sound wonderful! I like the turtle pic too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice commentary on the joys of cycling and very encouraging for a new cyclist like myself!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you are enjoying the cycling experience. My wife started riding with me two years ago. With all the kids out of the house now it has been a real blessing for both of us except she beats my butt up the hills which I don’t like 🙂

      Like

  4. dawnmarie says:

    Loving the turtle.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

