The End is Near

bbendnear

I have an Aunt and an Uncle, in their mid to late seventies. Both of these individuals are educated, one with an advanced degree and prior to their retirement successful and respected in their chosen field of work. Somewhere along the line though, in the last 5 to 10 years they began preparing for Armageddon.

I have never gotten a clear picture of who or what set them on this course. There have been rumors or speculation amongst my other family members that this was a line of thought they picked up from the pulpit of the Church they attend. I know Jim Bakker (remember him? The Jim and Tammy Show, PTL, Jessica Hahn) sells Armageddon on his “Christian” television show along with solar flashlights, and water purification systems. But back to my Aunt and Uncle, after seventy plus years, kids, grandkids, successful careers why now? Why decide now at the ripe old age of 75 that you need a safe house stocked with survival gear, food, weapons and the like.

I have very fond memories of one of the two. Growing up he was the fun Uncle, he gave me my first beer, sold me my first car, helped me keep said car running and looking good. My take, as a teen, was this guy had a positive and optimistic view of the world. Admittedly I haven’t had much contact with either of them in the last 20 years or so, funerals mostly. But how would people, people who honestly won’t be around that much longer have such a dramatic shift in their view of the world?

The end is near, is it? Our individual end is near, and for me getting closer everyday. What is the difference between living your life as if the world is going to end and living your life knowing that your time on this planet is limited. My first reaction is the difference in how we would treat other people. One of the driving principles of Armageddon is wiping out all the wicked humans on the Earth who will be the source of unrest and evil, and leaving only the righteous. So while you are waiting, planning and preparing do you also judge who the righteous are and who will be the wicked wiped off the face of the earth? Do still have dinner with the wicked, talk to them at the grocery store or do you damn them and distance yourself concerned that God might make a mistake and grab you instead? Maybe its a bolt of lightening I am not sure how it will work.

The end is near, okay maybe, for me its guaranteed. I might have twenty years left, I might just have one day. Knowing this we can either despair about it or lighten up. I am going to lighten up, I hope you will too, I hope we all will.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The End is Near

  1. ericstone51 says:

    Guaranteed for everyone. No exceptions…that I’m aware of.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pete says:

    At 70 I can just barely make out the dim light at the end of my life’s road, and though my pantry is overstocked and firearms cleaned and ready I wonder what good that stuff will do when I stand before my creator?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Smartygirl41 says:

    I have an uncle who has preached the end of days to me as far back as I remember. It scared me as a kid and young adult. Now that I’m all grown up, I find it much better to live in today, and try not to worry about tomorrow. (as much as a person with anxiety can not worry, lol). Great post again my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Belinda O says:

    Hard to know how to live your life, isn’t it? I haven’t figured it out yet, but a lot of people seem happy to tell me what to do. Like that works with me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tilly Frueh says:

    Well at least they are still active at their age. I guess if they aren’t bothering anyone, alienating people, or trying to convert everyone there doesn’t seem to be much harm it what they’re doing. I say if it makes them happy, feel more secure, or give them a feeling of assurance for their future (regardless of how long that might be) go for it! They could just be sitting around waiting to die and that would be far worse than being prepared for whatever may be.

    Like

    • Sorry, I can’t agree with you. If they have enough energy to plan for the end of the world they have enough energy to save it as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tilly Frueh says:

        Growing up I remember those commercials advertising tooth paste that stated “4 out of 5 dentist recommend…” and I always wondered ‘What does that 5th dentist know that the rest of them do not?’ Well, what do you think your aunt and uncle know that you don’t?

        Like

        • They have given up hope. There is no knowledge in that…..none. Think about all the other productive things they could do in the world rather than planning on its demise. Delivering meals to shut-ins, teaching children how to read, helping the homeless, feeding the hungry. Instead, they sit on their ass, yelling the sky is falling to anyone that will listen.

          What did the 5th dentist know? You want to trust your teeth, the only teeth you have to whatever the 5th dentist knows rather than what 80% of the dentist know?

          Like

  6. Omg. The neurosis of old people. It’s happening to my parents and all of their friends, too. “Rigidity of thought” is what I call it. I’m not sure why it happens, but it seems to be fairly common.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Patty says:

    I’m just intrigued…Did you asked them personally why they made that choice that late in life?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

