Turning a mess into a masterpiece

I was reading a blog post about a minister in our community that was recently fired from his mega-church, a church that he started as a bible study group in his apartment that has grown to 30,000 + weekly attendees at 17 “campuses” across our state. The writer of the blog had deep feelings for this minister and hopped that he could “take a mess and turn it into a masterpiece”.

When my kids were little that loved to paint, draw and craft, activities my wife and I strongly encouraged. I created a space in my garage with a counter top and draws filled with magic markers, paint, chalk, crayons, colored pencils, tape, glue, pipe cleaners, popsicle sticks and colored paper. They would spend hours on tall stools creating masterpieces that we would compliment them on and hang on the refrigerator. I have a moving box in the closet filled with these works of art. If I ever want a good cry all I need to do is open that box and look at ALL those three and five-year old hand turkeys they drew with cut out feathers glued everywhere.

My work life has changed which has both good and not so good consequences. I am not making as much money as I should at a point in my life when my expenses are lower and I could and should be saving for retirement. The other not so good thing is that work has given me certain fulfilments over the last 30 years that I have had to seek or try to seek from other sources, writing for one. Some days I am more successful than others in finding those accomplishments, those small things that make us feel whole, but I will continue to search with an open mind and open heart.

I have lived my entire life by two mantra’s “Things happen for a reason” and “Things will work out”. I realize “things” is a big ass category but I am a half-full kind of guy so I am optimistic that “things” will be okay. I have said to my kids a thousand times over the last 25 years after broken hearts, hurt feelings, car wrecks, lost races, lost pets, lost friends that “things” are going to be okay and over the last 25 years they have and they are.

My kids sat on those stools and made messes into a masterpieces. We all have our messes, hell I am a mess everyday, the car won’t start, a bill I forgot to pay, a doctors visit we weren’t expecting, one step forward and two steps back is what I see in my checkbook. But “things” are going to be okay because I am still working on my masterpiece and I will get there if I don’t run out of colored paper, crayons and glue.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turning a mess into a masterpiece

  1. These things have a way of resolving themselves with a little patience…and a bit of a prod..keep writing, any subject you address you do with warmth and empathy, making your blog a pleasure to read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

