Black clouds on the horizon

I led a discussion on a book recently with a group that I am a member of. It is a small gathering of about 15 or 25 people with an average age of 75 or so (I am one of the youngsters). There is a lot of wisdom among these souls, wisdom that you gain from years and seasons of simply living and breathing.

The book we discussed was about life changes, disappointments and struggles, topics that effect each of us and doesn’t discriminate by age, race or gender. What you learn though, in a group that is more senior than yourself is that there are new challenges and decisions ahead of you, challenges that you were aware of but take on a different tone when you see them on the faces of the individuals in the midst of these storms. One group member’s husband is in the early stages of  Alzheimer’s, another husband is battling cancer for the third time and this one is more aggressive than the last two. One couple is moving to Florida at the end of the summer to be closer to their daughter. They are leaving their home of 50 years and moving to a state and city far away from their friends and church.

Hearing these stories created a somber mood during our discussion, a black cloud on the horizon for us 40 and 50 year olds. But as each story unfolded, as each journey was retold there was a sense of calm about the adventure they were embarking on, a grace, a peace and a thankfulness that they had made it this far.

I thought about these conversations later and honestly I was depressed at first but then I realized, this is how stories end. Our lives are not fairy tales. We don’t live in castles in the clouds, or kiss frogs who turn into princes, people who are alive, truly alive deal with changes, disappointments and struggles every day until the end. The difference in each of us is how we handle these adventures of life.

I am happy I have made it this far. I certainly hope there is more road ahead of me. I hope there are more changes, disappointments and struggles for me to breathe in as well because I will breathe them in deeply with grace, peace and thankfulness. Thankful for the opportunity to live my story, thankful for the chance to live my adventure.

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all.”- Helen Keller

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Black clouds on the horizon

  1. jlfatgcs says:

    Well said! This is an excellent post. We should all have the opportunity to listen to the stories of others, especially a generation ahead, and see a face telling that story. It gives a whole new meaning to life. -Jennie-

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

