A fool on a hill

Lou Holtz speaking at a luncheon hosted by the Republican National Coalition for Life on Tuesday said the high number of immigrants coming to the U.S. constitutes an “invasion.” And he said new immigrants need to assimilate better. Holtz added that his grandparents learned English after immigrating to the U.S. from Ukraine, and insisted his family learn it as well. New immigrants to this country, he continued, need to learn and speak English and “become us.”

“I don’t want to become you,” he continued. “I don’t want to speak your language, I don’t want to celebrate your holidays, I sure as hell don’t want to cheer for your soccer team!”- USA Today 

“It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.” – Mark Twain

One of the things I enjoy working on is my genealogy. It ties in nicely with my love of history. Fifty percent of the books I read deal with Buddhism, Christianity and other spiritual mess. The other fifty percent is history, the environment and science. I am not a fan of fiction though some of the “Christian” books I read seem like fiction at times.

About twice a month I block out two hours or so to weave my way through the Ancestry database trying to plug up the holes in my family tree. For me it is a fascinating adventure through the past. For years my mother has contended one of her great times six or seven grandmothers was a full-blooded Creek Indian. From a geographical standpoint it was possible but I have never found the evidence in my research.

For Christmas I bought them both a DNA test so that we could put this legend to bed once and for all. The results, not a trace of Native American blood, none. I am, as the combination of the two; 30% Western Europe, 30% Great Britain,  21% Ireland, 15% Scandinavia, and 4% Italy/Greece. In a word, a mutt.

Lou Holtz is a mutt as well, unfortunately because he was born in these United States and keep speak the language, though if you have ever heard him talk that point could be debated, he believes he has some God-given right to criticize the arrival of new immigrants to this country. He doesn’t.

I am always amazed at the number of people who I speak with who have travel abroad that comment, in disgust I might add, that no one speaks English (American English for the matter) in France or Spain. Really. Are we so high and mighty that we believe our civilization should be idolized as well as being the keepers of what we think should be the common language of the world? Yes, at times we do deserve the moniker ugly American.

Lou and Donald, do a little research on your family tree (hopefully it has branches). Do it with a humble and grateful heart because once upon a time, some Holtz or Trump was an immigrant in this country too.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Discover, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A fool on a hill

  1. Belinda O says:

    Yea, it’s a piece of cake to move here from a country where all you were able to obtain is a first grade education and learn a new language. Talk like that drives me insane. How many languages do you speak, Lou? I bet you studied one at some point. How much did you learn, where you ever able to use it effectively?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

