Politically correct

“I hate political correctness because it is antithetical to the founding principles of this country and the secular progressives use it to make people sit down and shut up while they change everything. It is time for us to stand up and shout out about what we believe in.” – part of Ben Carson’s RNC speech last night

Back before I became a Bible questioning, Buddha loving, tree hugging, flaming liberal I was a member of a well-known international social business organization. Now this organization does some good things but what I found over my years of involvement, which included a stint as President, was a membership made up primarily of Type A retired or nearing retirement conservative white guys. These were men used to getting their way because they knew how to get “stuff” done. Watching these “big personalities” plan, organize and try to work together for a fund-raiser as simple as selling donuts to buy backpacks for kids provided me with hours of irritating amusement.

The format for these types of clubs is pretty simple, you meet once a week for lunch, you have a charity or two you support and you solve all of the world’s problems over a piece of dry chicken breast with green beans, rice and a roll. Back in the old days attendance was very important and perfect attendance was the gold standard everyone would strive for. We had members in our club that had 50+ years of  perfect attendance. When I was President I had to visit members in the hospital, some seemingly on their deathbed, more than once to sign an “excused absences” form so they wouldn’t jeopardize their 100 years of perfect attendance. I found it a little silly and obsessive but hey to each their own.

Not long before my departure from this club I was put on the “Christmas Program” committee. Each year we would have a special menu, ham with green beans, rice and a roll and some festive program, kids singing carols for instance, take-up a collection and send the money to a non-profit in our community. One of the newer, younger members on our committee made the suggestion that we should call this our “Holiday Program” rather than a “Christmas Program”. Oh shit!

I personally did not have an issue with this. I knew that we had two Jewish members in our club who did not and would never make an issue of the club calling this celebration a “Christmas Program”. But I agreed with the young man and cast my vote for “Holiday Program” which was resoundingly defeated. I knew at this point my time in this organization would be short-lived.

Being politically correct is not about giving up your values or morals it is about being respectful, compassionate and thoughtful to others, qualities that seem to be in short supply these days. You have a right to believe what you believe, but you should also respect my right to believe what I believe. Will my rights step on your toes? More than likely just as your rights will step on mine from time to time.

This country was not built on the ideals that one group would have a say for everyone, we should all have an equal footing. Unfortunately some voices are just louder than others. I am not a big fan of Ben Carson, honestly I think he is a nut, but I respect his right to voice his opinion provided he respects my right to voice mine. Happy Holidays!

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Discover, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Politically correct

  1. William Tell says:

    Today is a busy day for this topic, with Twitter’s banning Milo Yiannopoulos. My clippings file remarks that this is “the best piece I’ve seen on the subject:” http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robert-kuttner/thinking-harder-about-pol_b_8908436.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

