Do they serve sweet tea in Canada?

Honestly I thought he would get bored and just go home, but I was wrong, really wrong. Tonight the circus leaves Cleveland when the head clown accepts the Republican nomination. Normally the phrasing would be “accepts his party’s nomination” but I am not sure whose party this really is.

I have watched only the sound bites of the RNC over the last few days. I don’t like name calling, I don’t like insults, and I despise bullies which is what most of the speakers have been about. I used to be a fan of Rudy Giuliani and how he stood front and center during the 9/11 attacks, no longer a fan. I used to be a fan of Chris Christie and how he stood along-side President Obama in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, no longer a fan.

The republican rhetoric and anger that I hear is just noise, not solutions. “Make America Great Again” is a marketing slogan with no substances or plan to back it up. I am sure it has sold a lot of red baseball caps. And now the GOP has taken a sharp stick and started poking the biggest bear in the world, China. Really? We can’t figure out the middle east and the GOP wants to take on this beast, a country we owe $1.243 trillion dollars too. You want to watch our economy come to a screeching halt let China decide that note is due and payable and they aim to collect it the easy way or the hard way. They do not give a shit about us. Let me say that again, they do not give a shit about us. If our economy collapses it will just make our real estate cheaper for them to buy (I hear they really like the state of Idaho a lot).

I don’t mean to paint a picture of doom and gloom but what the GOP is selling is fear, taking away our guns, men in women’s bathrooms, foreigners invading our country, taking our jobs, planting bombs, raping our women. Any sales person worth their weight in salt knows that you don’t sell the problem, you sell the solution. A Burger King slogan is not a solution, creating fear and angst is not a solution, being a bully is not a solution, picking a fight with a bigger bully is not a solution and unfortunately moving to Canada is not a solution either. I like my sweet tea too much.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Do they serve sweet tea in Canada?

  1. I am a Democrat…most of the time…but I did listen to the RNC for an hour. I quit listening after Gov. Christie—his hateful rhetoric and half-truths did NOTHING to attract me to his thinking or to D, Trump. I agree with your writing completely and especially these lines: ” creating fear and angst is not a solution, being a bully is not a solution…”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Smartygirl41 says:

    We call it Iced Tea in Canada!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

