Pong to Pokemon

My wife and I were finishing up our bicycle ride last night heading up Broad Street to Main Street. While we were waiting for the light to turn green I looked right and noticed that about 100 kids (anyone under 30 years old is a kid to me) were milling around the courtyard of our performing arts center. Each of them had their phones in front of their face. I asked my wife what the hell was going on and all she said was “Pokemon”.

I didn’t know what a “Pokemon” was so I jumped on the inner tube and discovered that my life would just have to stay incomplete by not knowing or caring anything about “Pokemon”. Crap like this fascinates me. I have been around for a half of a century, which in my mind, is not a very long time. I started thinking about all the innovations, new products, technology, etc that has occurred in this short span of time. Here is my partial list, I am sure I am missing some so feel free to add to it;

  1. Space travel
  2. Color television
  3. Cable
  4. Eight track tapes
  5. Cassette tapes
  6. CD’s
  7. iPods
  8. Microwaves
  9. Fax Machines
  10. Personal Computers
  11. Car Phones
  12. Cell Phones
  13.  The internet
  14. Email
  15. Texting
  16. GPS

Some of these things make our life easier, more productive while others (see Pokemon) appear to be, at least to me, just waste of what little space we have left in life. I am not always a big fan of technology (as I post this on a blog, over the inter tube for you to read) but I also understand that if we stand still the rest of the world will pass us by. So I will continue to try to figure out Snapchat (hate it) so I can communicate with my kids and learn how to take a selfie of my face and not my finger but please don’t ask me to play Pokemon with you.

“It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity.” – Albert Einstein

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pong to Pokemon

  1. Patty says:

    Jeeezzz…Now you got me to thinking ‘I’m getting old!’ too….
    hihi

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d rather grab a few Peterson Field Guides and go look at some *real* things…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

