First Lady Michelle Obama

Michelle_Obama_full_speech_at_Democratic_National_Convention_2016_7_25_2016_-_YouTube_-_2016-07-25_23.54.18

Let me begin by saying that I am a very big fan of our First Lady Michelle Obama and I also think she is gorgeous so let me go ahead and get that bias out-of-the-way. I can relate to her as a human, a spouse, a parent, and a citizen. She has a wonderful sense of humor (see Carpool Karaoke) and has represented herself, her family and this country with class and dignity for eight years. She is a women, as my wife always says, that you would want as your best friend. 

I want to share a few of the highlights of her speech last night at the DNC. I am pretty sure she stole the show;

“I also told you about our daughters, how they are the heart of our hearts, the center of our world. And during our time in the White House, we’ve had the joy of watching them grow from bubbly little girls into poised young women, a journey that started soon after we arrived in Washington.

When they set off for their first day at their new school, I will never forget that winter morning as I watched our girls, just 7 and 10 years old, pile into those black SUVs with all those big men with guns. And I saw their little faces pressed up against the window, and the only thing I could think was, what have we done?”

“How we insist that the hateful language they hear from public figures on TV does not represent the true spirit of this country. How we explain that when someone is cruel or acts like a bully, you don’t stoop to their level. No, our motto is, when they go low, we go high.

With every word we utter, with every action we take, we know our kids are watching us. We as parents are their most important role models. And let me tell you, Barack and I take that same approach to our jobs as president and first lady because we know that our words and actions matter, not just to our girls, but the children across this country, kids who tell us I saw you on TV, I wrote a report on you for school.”

“I want someone with the proven strength to persevere, someone who knows this job and takes it seriously, someone who understands that the issues a president faces are not black and white and cannot be boiled down to 140 characters.

Because when you have the nuclear codes at your fingertips and the military in your command, you can’t make snap decisions. You can’t have a thin skin or a tendency to lash out. You need to be steady and measured and well-informed.”

“And when crisis hits, we don’t turn against each other. No, we listen to each other, we lean on each other, because we are always stronger together.”

“That is the story of this country, the story that has brought me to this stage tonight, the story of generations of people who felt the lash of bondage, the shame of servitude, the sting of segregation, but who kept on striving and hoping and doing what needed to be done so that today I wake up every morning in a house that was built by slaves and I watch my daughters, two beautiful, intelligent, black young women playing with their dogs on the White House lawn.”

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Lady Michelle Obama

  1. Belinda O says:

    “When they go low, we go high.” I’m not one for pithy sayings, for too often they over-simplify, but those are truly words to live by. What a beautiful woman, down to the core.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

