Radio waves

 

One year for Christmas, Santa Claus brought me a handheld AM transistor radio from Sears as I recall. As a kid I was always amazed at how many of Santa’s gifts came from Sears but then again we always marked the beginning of the holiday season based on the arrival of the Sears Christmas Wishbook in the mail.

This simple little contraption was a modern marvel in its time, a radio small enough to fit in your hand powered by a battery. You could take it on a picnic, to the beach or to a baseball game. Truly something special. Oh how time, and our expectations have changed.

My radio had a long antenna that rotated. At that time, there were radio stations that could only broadcast during the day, sun-up to sun-down stations. Others that were low power with coverage that didn’t expand beyond the communities they served. Then there were the powerhouses called clear-channel stations that operated at 50,000 watts.

At night, with the single earplug in so I wouldn’t get in trouble for not going to sleep, I scanned the dial to far away places like New York, Chicago, Nashville and Detroit. On a clear night I might pick-up a station in New Orleans, Pittsburgh or even Dallas. I heard spanish spoken for the first time on that little transistor radio. Some stations in Mexico, much to dismay of the FCC, openly operated at 100,000 to 150,000 watts often stepping on the toes of the frequencies they shared with stations in the United States. Each night was an adventure, a journey that I could take without having to leave the comforts of my warm bed in North Carolina.

Rock ‘n’ Roll was changing during this time. There was a post Beatles revolution in the late 1960’s and early 1970’s. Each night I heard new groups, new styles and new sounds, sounds that I wasn’t hearing at home on the local stations. I developed my love of music under the covers of my bed as an eight year old, a love I carry with me today. I still enjoy finding that obscure group or song but now I do it by scanning the dials of sirius satellite radio, quite the technological advancement from that humble Sears AM transistor radio.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Radio waves

  1. The songs stimulate memories of the people, places and occasions. What memories do these songs bring: Twist and Shout, Surfin’ USA, Wear some flowers in your hair, California Dreaming, Teach your children….?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jlfatgcs says:

    You just wrote the words of my early teenage years. Finding a New York station at night was thrilling. I remember the DJ introducing a song (Temptations or Four Tops?) and telling the audience that the parents in Grosse Pointe Michigan had forbidden their teenagers from hearing the music. That stuck with me. How far we have come! The transistor radio was my mainstay at the beach. Thanks for the memories!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The cool thing back then was, you could hear several different genres of music on one station, since there were so much fewer stations. (We didn’t even have FM!) So, we grew up with a broader “education”, as it were. Definitely good times.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That looks very similar to my Jade Six-Transistor Radio. I used to keep that little half-inch speaker pressed tight against my ear. ):

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, Satellite radio is the answer to “Queen’s” ” Radio Ga Ga”

    Let’s hope you never leave old friend
    Like all good things on you we depend
    So stick around ‘cos we might miss you
    When we grow tired of all this visual
    You had your time – you had the power
    You’ve yet to have your finest hour
    Radio – radio

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

