The view

After 750 feet and about an hour and a half of climbing this was my view Sunday afternoon;

The view

The view

 

What you are looking at is Looking Glass Rock on the right from high atop John’s Rock in the Pisgah National Forest.

Though not particularly hot, low to mid 80’s, Sunday was a very humid day. There is no breeze in the woods, if anything it is more humid in the forest where the moisture is trapped under the canopy of the trees. For the two-mile hike up to John’s Rock we gained 750 feet, that is like walking up the stairs of a 75 story building. For me, it was slow going, stopping frequently to catch my breath and wipe the sweat off my face. Flat spots were too far and few between. Every time the trail leveled out some I would lift my head to see another incline waiting for me. It would have been easy to have just turned around and saved this adventure for a cooler day. But I knew what the pay off was, the view, a very chilly breeze and a welcomed decent.

The view 2

When I undertake an adventure like this I always remind myself that I am not in a race. There is no first prize or an award ceremony waiting for me at the bottom. There will be no television cameras or reporters waiting to interview me for the six o’clock news. I do this for me, for my mental and physical health, for the experience, for the adventure, and for the view.

I am blessed to have a 513,000 acre forest like Pisgah within an hours drive of my home. I know which trails to take to avoid the summer masses. I know which ones have the biggest payoffs like the view from John’s Rock. To capture these moments requires work, effort and most importantly time. There is no easy way around it, one foot in front of the other.

The brew

The brew

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The view

  1. Lively Life says:

    the view and the brew! Woo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jlfatgcs says:

    Beautiful! looks just like my home state of West Virginia.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

