Foot in mouth disease

Many years ago my wife and I were at a party. Now I am not the most social of butterflies but after a few beers I loosened up a little and was having a semi-good time but still would have been ready to go whenever the boss said we could.

We were talking to another couple that we kind of knew through mutual friends. The wife was very cute and I saw what I thought was, using a term that I hate, a “baby bump”. You know where this is going. So I asked, trying to be cute and little flirtatious, “When are you due?” Just as the words passed through my lips my wife spun on her heels and looked at me with the death stare of satan. Oh shit I thought. The cute lady with the bright blue eyes said with a smile, “I had a baby three months ago.” I smiled back at her knowing she knew she had just met a dumbass. Her husband, a big guy as I recall, wasn’t smiling back. I did get my wish, I got to leave the party early but it was a very quiet and chilly ride home.

“You know something very nice just happened to me. A man came up to me and he handed me his Purple Heart,” Trump said during an event in Virginia. “He said, ‘that’s my real Purple Heart I have such confidence in you.’ And I said, ‘Man that’s like big stuff. I’ve always wanted to get the real Purple Heart.’ This was much easier,” he added before inviting the veteran on stage. The man, however, told NBC News before the rally that it was actually a copy of his Purple Heart.

“I saw him,” Trump said of the Khan speech. “He was very emotional and probably looked like a nice guy to me. His wife … if you look at his wife, she was standing there. She had nothing to say. She probably, maybe she wasn’t allowed to have anything to say. You tell me,” Trump continued. “But a plenty of people have written that. She was extremely quiet, and it looked like she had nothing to say. A lot of people have said that.”

Pressed to identify the sacrifices he has made for his country, Trump said, “I think I’ve made a lot of sacrifices. I work very, very hard. I’ve created thousands and thousands of jobs, tens of thousands of jobs, built great structures. I’ve had tremendous success. I think I’ve done a lot.”

And still there are American’s that pledge their undying love and support for this man. I make no bones about it, I believe the election of Donald J. Trump would set this country back 100 years but I want him to keep talking, keep alienating segments of our population, keep tweeting, continue to not listen to his advisers, pick on Gold Star mothers, keep opening his mouth and inserting his foot. Truly it is the best thing he can do for this country. Better now with George Stephanopoulos at ABC News than with Xi Jinping, the President of the People’s Republic of China

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Foot in mouth disease

  1. manqindi says:

    I must agree that Trump does seem like a potential disaster. But the amount of negative stuff we hear about Hilary doesn’t make her much more attractive.
    The biggest disasters are twofold:
    1) The system allows candidates like these to be elected to the most powerful position in the world
    2) significant proportions of the population are besotted with their candidates
    Faith in the integrity of the USA is being tested big time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have lived in a house full of women all my life, the only son with sister’s, the father of daughters. I trust the spirit of a women more than the ego of a man, and God help us, this man has enough ego to light up New York city. Thank you for reading and for taking the time to share your thoughts.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

