The anonymous face of hate

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Our local television station, I am sure like many, has a place on their website where people can post comments on specific news stories. Unlike some media outlets which ties their comment section to a Facebook account, this station’s procedure allows individuals to register anonymously with cute and not so cute names and profile pictures.

In a recent story about a mother being charged with child abuse were these sampling of comments;

  1. Drown this trash in a bucket of water.
  2. If guilty line her up downtown with a firing squad.
  3. Just drop her off in n***** town after 12 am on any night of the week. She won’t live long.
  4. Liberals would be celebrating if she had murdered the child inside the womb instead of outside the womb.
  5. Another Hillary supporter BUSTED.
  6. Put a lead bullet to her head.

Here is the thing, if she is guilty of this crime it is truly a horrible and tragic event. But what sort of power do people derive from posting these type of comments? Who are they, what kind of anger are they filled with? What kind of satisfaction do they gain from anonymously posting these types of thoughts and remarks? Is this simply an outlet to vent rather than hopefully act? I am no psychologist, honestly I am probably just as Nucking Futs as the next guy, but I don’t understand this kind of hatred, these kind of horrible thoughts and language.

Sadly I look at these comments way to often. For me it’s like watching a train wreck, I know I shouldn’t stand there, I should probably run for cover, but I can’t help it. Fortunately (fortunately?) it is pretty much the same “people” expressing their “views” and “thoughts” all the time. They run in a very typical partner, simple thoughts, little words, big audacious statements.

I don’t know, maybe it just me. Maybe we should all be this angry, this hateful, this uncaring. Maybe the only way to protect ourselves from all that is wrong in this world is to hide behind a locked door with a loaded 357 magnum advocating death and destruction to anyone and everyone we view as unworthy behind an anonymous mask. Or, maybe not.

“You must not hate those who do wrong or harmful things; but with compassion, you must do what you can to stop them — for they are harming themselves, as well as those who suffer from their actions.” – H. H. the Dalai Lama XIV

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The anonymous face of hate

  1. Great quote, hatred is almost excused by way of freedom of speech and self expression.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. JJS says:

    Comment boards can be scary places. So easy to rain down judgment, so rare to offer anything constructive. I feel your pain.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Patricia says:

    I get you. I believe these people comment for sport. They get a kick out of attempting to shock readers or to make the reader feel stupid.

    I once asked a question on a website for tropical fish owners about my Panda Cory Catfish. Some smart ass person responded with “What are you doing with a Panda?”A true tropical fish owner would have known that it is a fish that has panda markings so this guy was just trying to be cute. I wish I could say that I turned the other cheek but I embarrassed myself by retorting. It then occurred to me that my response more than likely wouldn’t be posted because it was negative. So I was no better than he was.🙄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

