The artist and the art

 

Painting

I think I have mentioned on an occasion or two that I would love to be able to paint. I think I have set the bar pretty low, I only want to be as good as Vincent van Gogh and honestly I don’t think that is too much to ask. But for whatever reason I don’t have the gift, the gene, the cell, the Neurotransmitter in my brain that allows me to create works of art like the beautiful painting above, one of my most prized possessions.

I have played the guitar since I was twelve years old, I can pick out most songs on the piano but I can’t paint or draw. I can build beautiful Adirondack chairs and porch swings, craft a headboard out of an old door, or make a delicate cross out of a scrap of wood, but I can’t paint or draw. I try to buy two or three original pieces of art each year. My hope is that this is my tithe, my toll, my dues to the art gods and that they will one day look down on me with pity and strike me with whatever “It” is that I need to create my vision of the world on a piece of canvas. I am still waiting and buying (I am looking for an original painting of a goat, if you know of an artist that paints goats hook me up).

So to all you painters and sculptors out there, thank you for sharing your gifts, and your talents with those of us who can barely draw stick people. We are envious, we are jealous, maybe a little resentful, probably bitter too, but happy you got “It” I just wish I could catch “It” too.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The artist and the art

  1. manqindi says:

    I envy your skills. I can’t paint either, nor play the guitar or piano.
    Jesus was a carpenter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jlfatgcs says:

    I’m with you; love it, understand it, teach it, but can’t do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ashleykanyan says:

    I think you should try to paint or take a class if you really like it! It’s what you gain from the process that makes you an artist in heart 🙂

    Like

  4. zozieposie says:

    This made me laugh! 😀
    Great post

    Liked by 1 person

  5. myfigs says:

    Nice blog! I just started my new one…
    Take a look 🙂
    Hope you enjoy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

