Shapes and sizes

We had a long wait at the airport for our flight last week. The last time we flew out of this airport we arrived two hours early, got stuck at the ticket counter, spent over an hour in the TSA security line, had to take a train to our gate, sprinted (and I don’t sprint) to the plane and got there just as they were getting ready to close the door. Fortunately they took pity on this old fat guy huffing and puffing and let us on the plane. I DID NOT want to repeat that experience again.

So with two hours to kill before boarding I enjoyed one of my favorite activities, people watching. With the Allman Brothers Band At Fillmore East album surging thru my ear buds as background music I watched people come and go through the airport.

We, humans, are an interesting breed of creature. We come in all shapes and sizes, colors, dress, styles and attitudes. I watched saints, mothers traveling alone with small children. Pushing strollers, entertaining and refereeing their charges. Important people, business men and women dressed to the nines in crisp white shirts oblivious to their surroundings while focused on whatever spreadsheet they were building on their laptops. These people had traveling down to an art, an efficient art unlike me. There were fashionably attired men and women, the movie stars as I call them, dressed to impress, though I am never sure who they are trying to impress in an airport. And then my favorite, the folks who look like they just rolled out of bed wearing their pajamas. Sweats and baggy t-shirts, flip-flops, and baseball caps, traveling in unpretentious comfort.

We are all different, at least on the outside, but really we are all the same. I wish we would be nicer to each other, more respectful. Honestly, it takes the same amount of energy. Each of us had the same beginning and we will each have the same conclusion. If we could just figured out how to make our time in the middle more peaceful and considerate the world, our communities would be a better place.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shapes and sizes

  1. Great entry. Keen insight.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patty says:

    Indeed, just a friendly smile or a ‘hello’…how difficult is that…
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

