At the edge

Water

“I want to stand as close to the edge as I can without going over. Out on the edge you see all the kinds of things you can’t see from the center.” -Kurt Vonnegut

I lost my need years ago to be the center of attention. I was president of the club, a member of the board, collected the framed mantles and certificates of appreciation and nailed them to my walls for all to see. I listed the organizations on my resume that were lucky to have my attention and time. I was a busy guy, an important man and then I wasn’t.

I walked from the center to the edge not because I wanted too but because I was forced too. But I like it here, the view is better, the company is more stimulating, and the work being done is more rewarding and real. You don’t get your name in lights on the edge, most times, people simply forget your name. People on the edge don’t get credit either, but they aren’t doing it for the credit. The reasons are different, and the satisfaction is different too. Let the people in center bathe in the glory, do the interviews, read the press clippings, and collect the tokens of recognition.

I am going to stand with my toes over the line, ready to fall in so I that understand, ready to reach out so that I can help, ready to commit so that others will believe. I will operate in the dark if necessary letting others bask in the limelight. I have been in the glare, it’s a crowded field littered with bodies aching for glory. I am going to straddle the edge because the view is better and the need is much greater.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to At the edge

  1. Nice! …a choice made that feels more true and peaceful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

