Ripples in the water

“We are all affecting the world every moment, whether we mean to or not. Our actions and states of mind matter, because we are so deeply interconnected with one another.”― Ram Dass

I was getting my car gassed up yesterday for the weekend. As I was watching the gallons and cents spin out of control I noticed honey bees flying in and out of the trash can next to me. This wasn’t one or two bees but many, many bees. Not enough to be called a swarm but enough to terrify someone who may not be a fan, as I am, of any insect with a stinger. I looked around and noticed that all of the trash bins had these marvelous creatures flying in and out of them, much to the dismay of many of this convenience stores customers.

Just as my tank was reaching the full spot an official looking store employee in a yellow vest was headed towards me armed with a can of something. As she got closer I noticed it was a can of wasp spray. I asked her what she was preparing to do and she quickly responded “Kill some bees”. No, No, No I implored, please don’t do that. Change the trash bags out, which will get rid of the sweet coke and Dr. Pepper they are after. Yes, she was going to change the bags out but not before she killed the bees first, she didn’t want to get stung. I offered to change the bags out for her but that was not an option. This was the way her manager told her to do. When I asked if I could speak with her manager, this kid looked at me like I was on drugs. No, her manager wasn’t around.

I thought about going through my bee’s are becoming endangered spill with her but decided to save my breath. She was going to “Kill some bees” and that is what she proceeded to do.

When I got home I sent the convenience store a message on their customer service form. I asked that they review their policy and change the trash bags out more often and not spray the bees. I can imagine some webmaster on the other end wondering which department should get this nutty message from this bee loving, tree hugging nut job.

Some of you may not think this is a big deal but if you do the math it becomes a bigger issue. Think about it, 36 trash cans that probably get sprayed and emptied three times a day, maybe killing five bees in each can. 5 bees x 36 trash cans x 3 times a day =  540 bees killed in a day x 7 = 3,780 bees killed in a week x 30 = 113,400 bees killed in a month. That seems like a pretty big deal to me.

People lose sight of how their actions and inactions affect not only other people but this fragile world we live in. This isn’t some great big garbage dump where we can be rude or ugly to someone or something and not expect anything to come of it. How we treat this planet and each other is all interconnected as Ram Dass so eloquently spelled out for us. Our actions cause chain reactions like ripples in the water. We can’t control where those ripples go once they start moving but we can control what kind of ripples we make in the beginning.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Longreads, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ripples in the water

  1. Thank you-I’m so pleased you did that. Bees are so essential and just to kill so unthinkingly is awful. Thank you for taking steps to help.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. manqindi says:

    If all bee die, so all we die!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well Done for standing your ground on what you believe in !!!
    But oh my God.. you are sounding a bit like myself as a frustrated writer, philosopher of the way the world is so interconnected, an activist for wildlife and humanitarianism, and generally trying to make the world a better place for me and for you. [I also like a variety of music from Michael Jackson to classical and Kitaro!]

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Not sure if what I am doing is “right” or safe, however am trying to explain to my grandchildren their relative size compared to the bee and other than a lttle “buzzing” noises there is nothing to be afraid of.

    The long term global awareness might be, not to produce so much sugar water, the bees could stay in a much more natural habitat. Lest we destroy that too, for putting up another “convenience” store.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “their relative size compared to the bee and other than a little “buzzing” noises there is nothing to be afraid of”…I love that. Honestly we can take that lesson and apply it to many things in life. Thank you for reading and taking the time to share your thoughts.

      Like

  5. Absolutely right. ALL actions have consequences. My favorite singer/songwriter, Don Henley, wrote a couple of terrific songs on this subject, “The Genie” and “Goodbye to a River”; highly recommend to everyone. Very good post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

