Your mother loves you

“The natural state of motherhood is unselfishness. When you become a mother, you are no longer the center of your own universe. You relinquish that position to your children.” – Jessica Lange

I visited my Mom and Dad this weekend. I don’t get up to see them as much as I should but my wife and I made the three-hour trip north to spend a couple of days with them.

My parents are young compared to the parents of our friends. My Mom and Dad married young and started having babies early. My Mother had me when she was 18 so when I was 30 she was only 48. My oldest child is 26 years old and I am 55. When my Mother was 55 she had six grandchildren. I am not even close to having a grandchild yet though I did recently get a granddog. I guess you take what you can get.

My Mother is my Mother no matter how old I get. She gave me life and will always worry about me, love me, and defend me…..be my Mother. It is a special relationship, one very difficult for males to replicate. I am not sure we can.

In my family, my Mother is the light, the light that shines on each of us. She is the light that makes us turn from simple rocks into stars while accepting no praise or glory for the effort. It is who she is, what she does, her role, her lot life and honestly she wouldn’t have it any other way. My wife assumes the same role in our household, the comforter, the peacekeeper, the light that shines on us to find our way forward. It is an unselfish role but a role that is essential for the health and stability of our family. I don’t thank my Mother or my wife often enough for what they do for us, but they do it anyway because that is what Mother’s all over the world do for us. Your Mother loves or loved you. To honor her, love the people back in your world.

“Your light’s reflected now, reflected from afar. We were but stones, your light made us stars.” – Pearl Jam “Light Years”

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Longreads, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Your mother loves you

  1. Wonderful message. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I envy anyone who has a grownup-to-grownup relationship with their mother. Since mine died when I was sixteen, I missed out on that. Enjoy time with yours as much as you can, for as long as you can. Blessings on you both.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

