Where did you go?

I wrote my first post on March 15, 2016. Since that time I have published 237 post and have picked up 749 followers.

I will occasionally thumb backwards to that point in March a long, long time ago (7 months) and look at the people who commented, some of the followers that I picked up and who liked a post way back when and wonder “Where did they go?”.

My followers list is 38 pages long. But the thing is when I go to page 38 some of these people no longer exist, or they haven’t posted anything on their blogs in months. When I look at the comment section, 1,150 comments from others to date, people who chatted my fingers off three months ago I have never heard from again. Did I piss them off? Did I become too boring, or predictable? “Where did they go”?

I am always fascinated by the reasons people begin a blog in the first place. Some use it as a forum to vent, others want to explain their side of the story. Some enjoy the creative aspect of it, others the social component. Whatever the reason, whatever the rationale maintaining a blog is not for the faint of heart. One of the most often repeated sentences I read on a blog is “Sorry I have been gone for so long”. When I check to see when their last post was months had passed maybe even years. When I look to see who they are apologizing too I discover they have three followers (and I know they are one of the three).

I have learned very quickly that if I am not posting I am not getting any views. A good “view” day for me is about 200 or so. A typical day (one of two post) is 100 to 150 views. But if I go a day or two without posting anything, seven views.

I can normally knock out a 500 word post in an hour once the idea comes to me and I love it when the idea comes. I like the feeling, I like how the words and thoughts meld together. I have a number of language, terminology, grammar and diction challenges to overcome when I write. My simple mind has simple thoughts that I write in a very simple misspelled, sometimes backwards, language. But I like creating, exploring and thinking through words and ideas. It has been a wonderful exercise for me.

So for those of you who have stuck with me over the last few months, or who have just joined me, to those that have encouraged me, shared your thoughts for or against, I thank you. As I have said previously I will do this as long as I keep having those “ideas” or until people quit reading. I can promise you this, you will never read a post on here that begins with “Sorry I have been gone for so long”. Before that happens I will be gone or dead which ever happens to come first. Blessings & Peace 2 each of u.

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Longreads, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Where did you go?

  1. sjs883 says:

    You are doing a lot better than most with regards to your followers, people that ‘like’ your work & the amount of traffic you have reading your blog. I find that many people that visit don’t bother to comment or like. They read & move on. (A bit annoying but there’s nothing I can do about that). But then again I find because of life commitments Eg: work, kids etc, it’s hard to write often. I hope things pick up with your blog. Tell you what, if I follow & like your blog, then you can follow & like mine. It’s great finding new followers. Don’t you think? 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  2. mwdunham says:

    Ok! Ok! I’ll post something today. First, I hear it in my spirit and now you have allowed yourself to used as a mouthpiece. Where did you come from anyway? I won’t ask who sent you. I already know the answer to that question.
    So, I took the summer off to frolic with the kids and that is allowed but it’s time to get back. Back to writing, back to loving through writing, back to writing down what I know He told me to write, back to you.
    Thank you Friend

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cave_Guy says:

    I randomly read this after a 3 month absence from WP – the reasons we start and stop blogging are more personal than quantifiable. It takes a different breed to set their little raft on this ocean – that is for sure— Wish you fair sailing and continued success.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anne J says:

    Firstly – I’m still here. 🙂
    I think that most people don’t know why they start blogging so the follow through becomes difficult. This is my 3rd try at blogging and the reason it’s fairly “successful” despite having only achieved 100 or so followers on both (Food & Travel and Musings, Poetry, Prose) is because I am no longer just ranting. I still do but I have a purpose although not yet that critical at this point… which takes me to why I don’t post everyday. And being employed full time, one of the many commitments I have, creativity or even just editing pictures isn’t that easy. Either exhaustion or laziness takes over. Blogging, I think, is like exercising. 🙂
    There you go – you have an idea what happens to some of us in the blogging world.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Smartygirl41 says:

    I’m still here dear boy!!!! And btw… you have like 500 more followers than me, so you should be super proud of that.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jsant1214 says:

    I like your post! I’m a new follower and also new to the blogging world. I’ve always been passionate about writing and after the push of a few friends I finally did it (although I technically opened the account over a year ago, I’ve only been blogging for 3 months). Blogging has revealed what lies within my soul that is usually drowned out by the daily hustle and bustle. I find it beautiful, liberating, and therapeutic to let give my soul a voice. I hope to blog my way through life and make friends along the way who are genuine followers that I can interact with. Congratulations on keeping the blogging flow going, I look forward to reading your posts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lovern2012 says:

    Hi and thanks for blogging. I’ve read some of them and am trying to make time to read other blogs in a balanced way. Thanks for stopping by my post, Daring.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

