It’s hot and getting hotter

“Obama’s talking about all of this with the global warming and … a lot of it’s a hoax. It’s a hoax. I mean, it’s a money-making industry, okay? It’s a hoax, a lot of it.”- Donald Trump

First and foremost, I am not a scientist. I live in this world as an average Joe Blow with millions of other Joe and Josephine Blow’s. But I do a few things that may be different from some, I keep a garden and I ride a bicycle 140 to 150 miles a week in the Summer.

I realized, early on, that there was something “special” about this Summer namely, it was bone dry and very hot and sadly the scientist have confirmed my “special” suspicion. NASA recently released data that showed each month in 2016 as the warmest respective month globally in the modern temperature record, which dates to 1880. This trend suggests 2016 will surpass 2015 as the hottest year on record.

So what were my signs that I picked up on? Brown grass, wilting tomato plants, dogs panting, air conditioning running non-stop, and running out of water 20 miles into a 30 mile bicycle ride. Real scientific stuff. Unfortunately, I was right.

This is not an American issue this is a global issue, an issue that will require the cooperation and actions of China, India and other industrialized countries. Therein lies the problem, getting other countries to recognize this issue at the expense of their economies. As we, the collective we, continue to pump carbon dioxide into the atmosphere we destroy the natural God-given protections built into our system. This isn’t a hoax. It is real. People are waiting for the Rapture, so all their good deeds can shine before God. But in my view, contributing to the destruction of Her planet is not a check in the right box.

So what can we do? First, each of us can take the time to understand the issues. Google Global Warming (51,200,000 results) and read what people smarter than Donald Trump think about it. Elect leaders who address the problem, not in words but in actions. Also, we can all make changes in the way we live, small changes, things that you will find to be simple and not inconvenient. It takes living smarter, with a conscience, to make an impact, one action, one small step at a time.

“The point is that there is tremendous hypocrisy among the Christian right. And I think that Christian voters should start looking at global warming and extreme poverty as a religious issue that speaks to the culture of life.” –  Al Franken

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s hot and getting hotter

  1. You – and Al Franken – are exactly right.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patty says:

    What I don’t understand why ‘we’are still talking about this issue, addressed already decades ago and it still takes so much time before ‘we’ are actually doing something. Recently I read in the new that finally a Climate program is signed of by a lot of countries. Yippeee, I thought…and then I heard they aim to have measurements in place by 2050. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

