Trump: Guilt by association?

“If you’re black and you haven’t been successful in the last 50 years, it’s your own fault. You’ve had every opportunity, it was given to you. You’ve had the same schools everybody else went to. You had benefits to go to college that white kids didn’t have. You had all the advantages and didn’t take advantage of it. It’s not our fault, certainly.” – Kathy Miller, Trump Campaign Chair for Mahoning County, Ohio 

“The grievance in their mind is the animus, the anger. They hate white people, because white people are successful and they’re not.” – Trump supporter & NC Congressman Robert Pittenger

I am ready for this election to be over. Honestly, I would rather move my brain over to more pressing issues like why is the sky blue, or what is the perfect amount of chocolate syrup to squeeze into a glass of cold milk, but none the less this political cycle seems to be dominating most of my thinking right now.

I always knew there was an ugly, racist, underbelly simmering amongst some of Trump’s supporters. The signs were easy to read even when you put aside the support of David Duke, the former grand wizard of the Ku Klux Klan. Hillary Clinton called them out on it by referring to half of Trump supporters as a “basket of deplorables”. Her mistake was assigning a number to it, a generalization.

I hope the number isn’t 50%, that would certainly be a horrible reflection on our country. But given the recent comments from some of the Trump supporters I noted above, people of influence, people who other people turn to for guidance and direction it makes me wonder what that number really is.

I hate generalizations but unfortunately that is what many of us base our decisions on. Take me for instances, on the back of my beat to hell, dirty as shit Ford pickup truck I have the following stickers plastered to my rear window for the world to see:

  1. A Grateful Dead sticker
  2. Free Tibet sticker
  3. A COEXIST sticker
  4. A Buddha Inquire Within sticker
  5. A Love Trumps Hate Hillary Clinton sticker

Now, if you saw me at the Home Depot in my redneck truck which, I might add, is the envy of every of southern man I have ever met, with the left leaning stickers (some would say far, far, California left) what generalizations would you assume about me? That I live in the wrong state (I live in a red state) or that I am just visting? That my other car is a Prius? That I have long hair, an earring and smoke dope? You would be wrong on all accounts.

I really don’t want to lump 50% of the Trump supporters into the “basket of deplorables”. I do not think that is a fair generalization but damn some of them keep opening their mouths and certainly don’t help their case.

So what is the perfect ratio of chocolate syrup to milk?

“Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.” – Abraham Lincoln

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Longreads, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Trump: Guilt by association?

  1. jsant1214 says:

    “Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.” – Abraham Lincoln

    Love the quote!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Anne J. says:

    I’m so afraid to say anything right now 😂 But being the girl that I am I’ll keep “talking” anyway… I like California a lot. I don’t know if I lean. But I’m not normally a fence-sitter. *grin* I dislike the Philippine President, apparently he’s worse than the Donald. See, you’re still okay there. 😄

    Liked by 2 people

  3. manqindi says:

    I cannot believe the tolerance America shows for wasting so many billions on producing such flawed leaders. First world democracy is failing: the electorate is using candidates like Trump and referenda like Brexit to express their overall discontent with the political system.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m as ready as you are for this election to be over with, but unfortunately, the racists will still be around afterward. Unbelievable.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Patty says:

    Mr Lincoln, indeed he was an interesting man 🙂
    Great post!
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

