One More

“I do not want to get to the end of my life and find that I just lived the length of it. I want to have lived the width of it as well.” – Diane Ackerman

I have been thinking a lot about this quote lately. The average life expectancy for an American male is 76.4 years. If, and this is a big damn if, I make it to 76.4 years of age that means I have 21 years left to walk on this planet.

Now if you had asked the 30-year-old me I would have said, 21.4 years sounds like an eternity. But the 55-year-old me says, shit I better get busy. Get busy doing what though?

My father-in-law just celebrated his 79th birthday. I sent him a text wishing him a happy birthday and he responded “Thank you. One more”. His response made me smile, that’s right one more, three more than the average and I am sure for him and for us, his family, every healthy “one more” is a bonus.

My father-in-law lives not only the length but the width of his life as well. He plays golf two or three times a week always walking, never riding in a cart. He hikes once a week. Not one mile strolls through the park but five to seven mile rough terrain, kick your ass, mountain hikes. When he first retired we all wondered how he would handle it. His answer to us, he will be just fine.

He realizes that the width of his world, and his activities would change dramatically if he broke a hip, or developed heart issues. He also understands that right now he is very lucky and fortunate but time will ultimately win, as it always does.

So for whatever time I have left be it 21.4 years or 21.4 hours I hope I will live the width as well as the length. I alone am responsible for making sure this happens.

“Drink in your summer, gather your corn, The dreams of the night time will vanish by dawn, And time waits for no one, and it won’t wait for me”The Rolling Stones “Time Waits For No One”

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Longreads, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to One More

  1. ayatesthewriter says:

    I enjoy this and all of the meaning that can be found in there. There are so many ways to live the “width” of your life. You really got me thinking. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, boy, I went through a very similar experience 4 years ago on my 56th birthday. https://norberthaupt.com/2012/08/07/daughters-birthdays-and-bookses/
    I am now 60 and 10,000 days is somewhat above the average life expectancy.
    Very thoughtful post. I did enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Belinda O says:

    The beauty is you can live the width of your life in simple ways. So much of it is attitude. The idea of a “bucket list” perplexes me. I don’t have grandiose goals. I just want to be at peace and make others in my life happy as well.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

