Things happen for a reason

“Remember that not getting what you want is sometimes a wonderful stroke of luck.” –His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama

If I had to pick a mantra for my life it would be “Things happen for a reason”. Over the course of my life I have had some marvelous “things” happen but I have also had some devastating “things” happen. Now, have the two balanced each other out over the course of fifty-five years? Well, honestly it is still too early to tell but if I were to expire today, right this moment as my short stubby fingers pounded out this very last wordddddddddddddddd

I don’t always understand the why. Much like Christian believers, there should be some mystery about life, living and faith. Sometimes answers are short or simply nonexistent. That’s okay, as I have gotten older I have grown more comfortable not needing all the answers or the control for that matter.

Living, like our health, is at times just a roll of dice. I had a friend who died six years ago at the age of forty-seven from a massive heart attack. Drop dead working in his yard. If you had placed him in a line-up with ten other men and ranked who would have been most likely to have health issues he would have been the last one picked. The picture of health. He exercised, ate right, did all the things we should all do to take care of ourselves. But he had a heart issue, an issue he was unaware of as well as his doctor and sadly it killed him. Here is the thing, the silver lining if you will, by taking care of himself he added years to what may have been a very short life. Rather than abusing his body and dying at say twenty-two at a keg party in college, he lived long enough to marry, have three wonderful children, coach church basketball, and support wonderful organizations in our community with his time and energy. Did it suck that he died so young? Yes. Would it have sucked more if he hadn’t lived at all? Also, yes.

Things happen for a reason. It is okay to wonder why and to even ask why me. But it is also okay to simply accept and acknowledge. If you spend your entire life searching for the answers you will ultimately be disappointed by what you find. Some puzzles just can’t be solved. The world is filled with unanswered why’s and how’s. It is the mystery of life the mystery of living. Whether you fight it or accept it is up to you.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Longreads, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Things happen for a reason

  1. My motto as a Creator believer is “Try your best and trust God for the rest” I live be it, because there is only so much control I can have over me and everything around me. Also, because there is also so much I can know and understand. This motto gives me peace for those questions I cannot answer. Great piece. Have an awesome day!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yes you are right.
    Shiva

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I liked the the last three lines it says all.
    Shiva

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have decided why is never a good question, never leads to anything relevant or positive. What – is a better question – helps to accept and acknowledge. Sometimes it’s just the mystery that needs to be accepted.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. “I have come to the conclusion that understanding ain’t all it’s cracked up to be. In other words, serve now, live now, and love now; don’t wait to understand.” ~Arlo Guthrie

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Belinda O says:

    A rabbi friend recently told me that in Judaism, it is the seeking that is important, the process of learning, rather than the answers themselves. I like that philosophy.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. jlfatgcs says:

    This is a wonderful post! Things do happen for a reason; perhaps it takes us decades to understand or see that. Perhaps we have to live through many experiences before we can nod our heads and truly see. Thank you! -Jennie-

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Patty says:

    I also believe there is a reason why we don’t find all the answers; maybe at the time you find them all, your time is up?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

