A bigger world

rosetta_osiris_nac_comet_67p_20140803_1

“The universe is wider than our views of it.” – Henry David Thoreau

Sometime yesterday a little known spacecraft ended its mission. Rosetta which has been orbiting around Comet 67P for the past two years landed on the object of its study, transmitted a few more incredible pictures and data then died, running out of energy.

Why should we give a crap about some ugly rock floating around in outer space? Because 7.5 billion people share this universe with that ugly rock, and billions, probably trillions of other ugly rocks floating above our heads. Unfortunately for some, the universe doesn’t extend beyond their noses.

I like the concept of space. I like both the physical and mental aspects of space. Space ties in nicely with my Buddhist sensibilities. I see the benefits and the rewards of expanding my space both internally and externally. Of freeing the space in my mind as well as allowing others to venture into the space I call my own.

The universe is a big place filled with the known, the unknown and the unimaginable. And as George Carlin so eloquently stated “If it’s true that our species is alone in the universe, then I’d have to say the universe aimed rather low and settled for very little.” 

Everyday you have the opportunity to expand your universe by reading, thinking or by letting someone new into your world. The last one is the hardest and the one I struggle with the most, maybe we all do, because it is the one that has the most risk. I also know that it has the opportunity for the most reward as well.

“Who are we? We find that we live on an insignificant planet of a humdrum star lost in a galaxy tucked away in some forgotten corner of a universe in which there are far more galaxies than people.” – Carl Sagan

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Longreads, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A bigger world

  1. jlfatgcs says:

    Great post. Yes, we all have the opportunity to expand our universe. Reading is a tremendous step. And, Carl Sagan is the genius that brings science to life for the rest of us. -Jennie-

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Will says:

    The wisdom of Carlin. Thanks for that. Rediscovering my curiosity..

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

