Evangelicals- Presidential Despair

Evangelical: of or relating to a Christian sect or group that stresses the authority of the Bible, the importance of believing that Jesus Christ saved you personally from sin or hell, and the preaching of these beliefs to other people.

Some of you may remember when Mitt Romney, a Mormon, was the Republican nominee for President in 2012 opposing the incumbent President and Democrat Barack Obama. Billy Graham, through his son Franklin, “blessed”, though did not endorse, Romney paving the way for Evangelicals across the country to effectively have someone (read not a Democrat) to vote for. What many have forgotten about this episode is that the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association website removed a page shortly after this “blessing” which identified Mormonism as a “cult”, along with the Unification Church and Scientology.

So far, neither Billy nor Franklin Graham have offered Donald Trump an endorsement or a “blessing”. At least I am not aware that they have. What they have offered is a voters guide on their website and their “interpretation” of each candidate’s position on the following Evangelical hot button topics; 

  1. The Supreme Court
  2. Religious Liberty
  3. Abortion
  4. National Security

The narrative concludes with this quote from Tony Perkins, president of the Washington, D.C. based Family Research Council; “It is the church—armed with the Gospel—that can fix hearts. It is the Gospel that transforms lives. It is the church through the witness of the Holy Spirit that can preserve a culture. But without the space to do that openly in public, it’s difficult. And elections in our country determine that.” Well, so much for the separation of church and state. As I read this statement, it is only through the Christian faith that 322,762,018 American citizens can grow, thrive and find happiness. So what do the other 96,828,605 (30%) non-Christian American citizens do, just watch?

If you read the guide you understand why I use the word “interpretation”.  There is a very simple intent implied, the Democratic party does not stand for or support Evangelical morals or values. Fortunately or unfortunately, depending on your point of view, Evangelicals aren’t 100% sure Trump does either but he has one thing going for him and one thing only, the big R in Republican.

I live in a densely populated Evangelical area and this has been the quietest I have ever seen them during a Presidential election. Once they lost Ted Cruz it seems as if they have been wandering the desert without a Moses. I know at the end of the day most Evangelicals will vote for Trump, but not for Trump, while they wait for the second coming of………Ronald Reagan.

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Longreads, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Evangelicals- Presidential Despair

  1. How to Stay Free says:

    Wow! Great article. I also believe people will most likely vote for Trump because he is apart of the Republican establishment. The same goes for Hillary, and her D’s. Have you looked into Gary Johnson, he is the Libertarian candidate?

    Like

  2. William Tell says:

    Franklin Graham is not my favorite person, definitely not my favorite exponent of Christianity.
    That said, this post came to mind when my prayer time, this morning, took a very strange turn on the connection between faith and politics.
    Daily, I pray for my congregation’s food ministry and its garden ministry, among other things. I have misgivings about the former as, as I’ve seen, the persons served are overwhelmingly “takers,” and it offers them no concrete ways to segue towards becoming “makers.” (Related blog post: http://williamatell.wordpress.com/for-us.)
    The garden ministry, in contrast, provides folk with concrete experiences that one can, indeed, reap what one sows. The chaos of “‘hoods” like this one makes it hard for people to perceive this, and there’s a ton of unhappy ramifications.
    It may say a lot about our political situation, and our spiritual situation, that such questions play no role in our audible dialogue.
    Also related: https://williamatell.wordpress.com/2013/10/24/job-creation-mitt-romneys-other-30-2/

    Liked by 1 person

    • My litmus test for faiths of all kinds is very simple, if you religion makes you a more loving, caring, compassionate and non-judgemental person towards EVERYONE and everything then go forth and make the world a better place for all of us. Otherwise keep your opinions and your beliefs to yourself. But, hey, that’s just my opinion. Thank you for reading.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. JJS says:

    Lots of truth in this. And I think it’s pretty funny they are hanging their hat (I originally typoed “hate” instead of “hat” – Freudian slip?) on Trump as a Republican candidate, since what he really did was run a highly successful and stealthy third party campaign under the Republican banner.

    Liked by 2 people

    • “stealthy third party campaign under the Republican banner”-great line! I really hate that I have devoted so much “posting” space to politics but I write what’s on my mind and damn it this has been on my mind. I am ready to start thinking about unicorns, rainbows and sunbeams again. Thank you for reading as always and for taking the time to share your thoughts. It means the world to me~Blessings.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Will says:

    Think you left out an important descriptive. White. In my dealing with this group, they tend to very monochrome in skin pigment. There are many factors in this. Economics are the biggest driver of segregation of where and who we live next to. Not sure of how to show this next point. Megachurches tend to be removed from the most diverse City centers. Creates a vast echo chamber of certain socioeconomic classes.
    Part of me wants to watch the train wreck with the social
    /cultural conservatives driving the train. But the layers of delusion would help them bounce. Not our fault for all this. The absolute righteousness of their just cause has no place for compromise. Seriously considering starting the genealogy of my family tree. Got to be a dual citizenship in there somewhere.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: God elected Donald Trump and I don’t feel so good myself | Ends and Beginnings

  6. Pingback: Franklin Graham’s groundhog day | Ends and Beginnings

Leave a comment