Humming through life

I am a hummer. No particular song or melody, I just like to hum. I tend to do it subconsciously. When I am waiting in the grocery store line I hum. When I am working on a project I hum. When I am deep in thought I hum. Now, some are not as appreciative, or think it is a cute or endearing little quirk (read wife) as others do. But I can’t help it, I just do it. I get a tune stuck in my head, say The Beatles “Eleanor Rigby” and I spend the rest of day humming “Eleanor Rigby, picks up the rice in the church where a wedding has been, lives in a dream”.

I understand that it can be annoying to some (again read wife) and cute to others but the others only deal with it for as long as they are standing in front of me at the checkout line. My wife has been dealing with it for thirty plus years (I also like to rub my feet together like I am trying to start a fire but I will save that for another post).

I have found that humming keeps me calm, level, and patient. It keeps me focused on the task at hand or from exploding because the person in front of me is arguing with the checkout clerk that the can of peas she is buying are on sale. Rather than offering to pay the thirty cent differences if she would just let it go, I smile and hum.

I think the world needs more humming. When the guy cuts you off in traffic, hum. Your wife wants to know why you didn’t empty the dishwasher, hum. Now, I would recommend humming while you get busy emptying the dishwasher, but hey, it’s your call. Humming can put you in a happy place, a place we all need to spend a little more time in.

So find a song, a melody and hum. You don’t need to practice, you don’t need to apologize, and it really requires no skill, just hum and maybe, just maybe, the rest of the world will hum with you.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Humming through life

  1. Smartygirl41 says:

    I’m a fellow humming bird ;). I hum all day long

    Liked by 1 person

  2. manqindi says:

    I sing and whistle when I ride my bike. (It was Eleanor Rigby too, just the other day). I have a lovely voice so i am sure nobody minds, even at 5h30am. Sometimes I imitate bird calls, which is fun as they occasionally investigate..

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Nicky M says:

    Love it – I’m all for a strategy to help you stay calm. Plus I always think that ‘hummers’ seem happier people 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jennie says:

    I do this all the time. Even the children in my classroom pick it up. Humming is such a good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. More humming and WHISTLING! I have noticed how few people whistle nowadays. Its a shame. Loved your post – thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Patty says:

    Here a humming and/or singing creature too 😉
    Although there are some melodies who even drive myself crazy, like that one of the Muppet’s…https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8N_tupPBtWQ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

