The job of being the President

obama-after-eight-years

What does eight years of serving as President of the United States look like? These two pictures of President Obama tell the story from his first and last state of union address. Why anyone would want this job is beyond me. Thankfully there are men and women that do.

Think about it, your life is disrupted, all aspects of your life. You live in the public eye under a microscope. Every action and reaction is scrutinized. Are there perks? Sure, if you like to travel, eat, and entertain this would be the job for you. But if you like to walk outside in your underwear and scratch your, well scratch yourself, you might want to hold off on submitting your resume.

This isn’t a Monday through Friday, 9-5, an hour off for lunch, J-O-B. There is power but also immense pressure. People are depending on you, not a lot, just 325,000,000. Some decisions are life and death, some decisions will put other people in harm’s way. I stay awake at night worrying about my kids sometimes, I can only imagine what keeps our President awake. I am sure, overtime, you begin to compartmentalized issues and concerns. But what I have loved about President Obama from the very beginning is his humanity. He wears his compassion, his hurt, his heartache on his face. He is real to me. Maybe it’s because he is father, a husband, a son, and a friend, roles I can identify with. These are roles he embraces and incorporates into his position as our President.

I will never be President of the United States, thank you but no thank you, but I am thankful Barack Obama wanted to be and I am thankful that Hillary Clinton wants to be as well. Trying to make 325,000,000 people happy isn’t possible, trying to make the best decision for those 325,000,000 people and our country is a daunting task. We ask much of our President, and whether you voted for them or not the least we can do is respect them for accepting the position, for leading our country and for growing old before our eyes.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Longreads, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The job of being the President

  1. Tony Burgess says:

    Yep, he has aged in some ways well but others not so much. His presidency has been tougher I think because being the first African-American president comes with unique stress and pressure brought on by people who frankly wanted to see him fail. I will miss him when he is gone.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I really wish he could stay in there for another four years, just to keep out these knuckleheads vying for the position this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Patricia says:

    As I was reading your post not only was I agreeing but I was thinking about how much I like Michelle too. They are kind, friendly and funny people.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Presidential Race: What am I missing? | Ends and Beginnings

  5. Nan says:

    Hopefully he’ll be able to continue displaying his wisdom as a Supreme Court Judge if HC is elected.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

