A Poem: The Road Beyond

the-road

Photo credit- Author

Here is where I start, where my feet touch the earth

A distances unmeasured that disappears in the curves of life

The horizon beckons, tempting me to continue, to journey on

But I stop here to rest, to catch my breath, and review the perils

There is more road behind me than ahead, remote memories of a past

Littered with suffering and joy, vacant moments, but spaces filled

Void of so many souls that walked with me, before me and on

Tears that have long since dried but still exist in my dreams

I will continue the adventure in shorter steps, expanding the view

Holding the hours tight in my grip, in the hands of people I love

Allow me to savor the time I have left on this path of dirt and stone

Show me enough to tempt my taste, my sight, my will to linger on

And I will bless each day and all the days ahead on the road beyond

An original composition by the author of Ends and Beginnings

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Poem: The Road Beyond

  1. CAM says:

    I enjoyed reading this. It is very relatable. And thank you so much for liking my latest post! Will be following from now on.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Show me enough to tempt my taste, my sight, my will to linger on – this is brilliant! And loved the entire composition, could relate to it very well …

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennie says:

    Beautiful and soulful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cindy knoke says:

    Moving and bittersweet~

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Patty says:

    Beautiful. Keep walking dear Mr. Legend and please keep sharing your wisdom.
    XxX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

