I was a vetted surrogate before I pivoted

For whatever reason, and maybe I just haven’t been listening, but the terms “vetted”“surrogate” and “pivot” have dominated the vernacular of the news media during this political season. Before this, I really hadn’t heard these words used much if at all. Maybe it is just me and my six year old vocabulary but we have been bombard by stories and people being “vetted”, statements from “surrogates” and candidates “pivoting”. Maybe the “pivot” is a new dance, and I don’t dance.

Hearing these “new” words, or maybe a better way to describe them would be “old words new context”, got me thinking are there other new words out there that I am missing? Lo and behold, through the power of Google (another relatively new word) I find the Oxford English Dictionary new word list for September 2016. Sadly, I haven’t been able to master the fifty or so words I already know how am I going to incorporate scrimption into a conversation, or focality or squee as in “I squeed like a 14-year-old girl when I saw him”Yea, I think me and squee will being keeping our distance from each other. So more new words I got to deal with, wonderful. Like I thought I was chill, groovy, cool, the boss, the bomb, bad, now, I realize I am once again just bad, no really, just plain bad, you know the real bad, the not good bad, yea that bad.

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I was a vetted surrogate before I pivoted

  1. Yeah like, just chill out man, you know, like just be righteous and everything will be copacetic. You dig?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patty says:

    Oops, I’m in the category of being bad too…Ok, I have to say it..”I’m getting old too”. WUHUU! (Don’t be afraid you mist another new word, this a personal word I came up with many many years ago, to express I am a bit blue, but not devastated : -) )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

