The Presidential Race: What am I missing?

I am sitting here listening to Dr. Ben Carson defend Donald Trump on MSNBC. I just don’t get it. Listen, I am not the smartest guy in the world, I freely admit that, but I am smart enough to know the difference between bullshit and the truth. Not only can I see the difference I can smell the difference. I assume average Joe and Josephine Citizen can as well but apparently not everyone is willing too.

The End is Near

What I heard from Dr. Ben this morning is that without Donald Trump at the helm, America is over, think the Book of Revelation, Apocalypse, the complete and utter destruction of our country. Fear sells in elections, always has, always will. Fear sells better to a segment of our population than facts or solutions. The strategist and surrogates for Trump know this. When all else fails, and for Trump it has, talk loud, really loud, speak angrily and sell fear. “Our country’s going to hell”, “like medieval times”, “We haven’t seen anything like this, the carnage all over the world” words that if you say loud enough, and repeat enough times people will believe because they want to believe.

Cooler Heads

For those of us who wish cooler heads would prevail, that Donald Trump would focus on solutions rather than taking the scorched earth approach, it is not going to happen, it’s over, it was over before it could ever happen. If, and this is the big ass IF, if he has a path to the White House it will be by terrifying people. Convincing them that America is bad, that we, as a country are not better off now than we were eight years ago, and guess what, it isn’t going to get better without him and if Hillary Clinton is elected we are doomed. DOOMED!

Why I am voting for Hillary Clinton 

I was asked so here you go;

1. Experience with other country’s– We live in a very small world and as wonderful as it might sound, we can’t build a wall to keep others out and US in. We will always be drawn into conflicts, but I prefer a Dove approach rather than Trumps Hawk approach.

2. Fair treatment of all Americans– I truly believe Clinton will treat everyone the same without prejudice or judgement. We have made a lot of progress on this point, we have a long way to go, I don’t want to go backwards.

3. Temperament- The job is not for the faint of heart. Look at the photos of past president over the course of their terms. I want someone who will not operate in a vacuum, someone willing to listen first rather than act, someone willing to think first rather than speak. Clinton has proven she is capable of the job on all those fronts.

4. Children- My future, your future, this countries future rest with educating, supporting, and providing opportunities for children to grow into citizens we can all be proud of. The gap is wide between those that have and those that have not. And in that gap are the children, our future. We need to narrow that gap. I believe Clinton will work tirelessly to do so.

Vote your heart

You can vote for whoever you want to, it is none of my business. But for your sake, our sake, this country’s sake, make your decision out of hope, faith and optimism, not out of fear. We are smarter than that.

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Presidential Race: What am I missing?

  1. Pingback: The Presidential Race: What am I missing? – femidadaadedina

  2. manqindi says:

    I regret that my faith in democracy, especially American style, has been shattered. Its not only the system but the spin that surrounds it – discerning what is true is difficult. I don’t like Trump at all but Ms Clinton does not inspire me – she looks ill and there seems to be some taint…
    Can you imagine the fallout if Trump and Kim Jong Un have to negotiate to avoid a nuclear clash? Maybe Putin is recalling all his diplomats to create tensions that Donald can assuage … let the mind boggles begin!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My brain also has been rattled by all the campaign rhetoric and the Trump support coming from intelligent, informed people. And then I realized that this is not about making an intelligent decision. It is all about who I am, what I stand for, whom I want representing ME in the eyes of the world. Trump is a despicable, embarrassing waste of human flesh.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Will says:

    Nixon understood fear of the Other in politics. George Lopez welcomed The Arab Americans in his stand up comedy. First it was the lacks. Then the Mexicans. Now you folks with funny names with an ack for good measure. You’re an American now. Paraphrased with out the funny but the truth is there. Laugh or cry.
    Fear is an easy cheap parlor trick. Unfortunately it does work with certain groups. Or should I call them marks? My vote HRC is a roundabout vote for Bernie. Win the Senate, he becomes the Chairman of the Budget committee. Follow the money.

    Is it November 9th yet?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Patty says:

    Since I’m not American I can’t vote, so I’m happy you can and do it for all the right reasons 🙂
    Off topic: I know it’s ‘just’ an expressions, but I wonder how this phrase originated; How can anyone SMELL the difference between bullshit and the truth, I wonder…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: When so desperate to hold onto power | Marcus Ampe's Space

Leave a Reply

