Searching for our field of peace

“Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing there is a field. I’ll meet you there. When the soul lies down in that grass the world is too full to talk about.” – Jalaluddin Rumi

When I can’t sleep at night, when my mind is filled with car payments, mortgages, and college tuition I think about the pasture, the field that I walked through to enter the woods on my Grandfather’s farm. I haven’t walked through this field or explored the woods beyond it in more than 35 years but when I close my eyes, in the quiet of the night, I can see every inch of it. But here is the thing, what I see in my mind’s eye no longer exist. The pasture, and the woods have been replaced with streets, sidewalks, a clubhouse and tract houses.

Over the course of my childhood I explored every inch of those 200 acres. Wading in the creeks, turning over rocks, walking, absorbing, listening and watching the world stand still. I stumbled on deer, turkey, raccoons, and skunks getting nailed not once but twice and once so bad that my Grandmother had to burn a brand new pair of blue jeans on the trash pile.

I was lucky to have this place of refuge. As a moody 14-year-old I could escape from all of the pressures fronting me from both parents and my peers. There was no right or wrong in the woods, just trees and air. As Rumi stated I found a place where the world is too full to talk”. Honestly, words couldn’t then nor can they now adequately describe the solitude and solace I found through that pasture and deep into those woods.

Though this place has long since given way to what some would call progress it lives forever in my mind as real today as it was 35 years ago. If you are still searching for your own field, your place of peace, reflection and respite I hope you find it. I hope you will search until you do and like Rumi, I’ll meet you there.

“The clearest way into the Universe is through a forest wilderness.” –  John Muir

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Longreads, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Searching for our field of peace

  1. Yes, I also have that boyhood woods to remember. It serves me well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If, like me, you have no memories of such a wonderful child-place, you could make one with your imagination, yes? Lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

