It’s Raining Acorns part II

acorn-wide

Back in August I posted my acorn thoughts, reflections and predictions. Well here I sit, October 20th and we, as I thought we would, are being bombarded by acorns. Apparently, this is a big year for acorns not only in number but in the size of the nut as well.

I have an old pickup truck which just happens to be parked under the canopy of two massive oak trees. In the bed of the truck reside no less than ten-thousand acorns. Okay, maybe not ten-thousand but a lot. Standing in the protection of my garage, listening to these projectiles drop 30 feet onto a sheet of Detroit steel makes my yard sound like a war zone. Last night, laying in bed, there was an ever so slight breeze which sent a multitude of nuts on to the roof (sound #1), which then rolled down the roof (sound #2), and bounced onto the hood of my car (sound #3). It was a noisy night.

My Grandmother equated a large acorn production with an anticipated hard, cold winter i.e. more food for the animals. In my yard, I have the happiest, plumpest squirrels and chipmunks imaginable. These guys are loving life. No need to raid the bird feeders, my front yard is a squirrel smorgasbord, a Golden Corral buffet for these bushy-tailed tree rats.

Like I said back in August I could be a millionaire many times over if I could sale each acorn for just a dollar. I offered to set up a PayPal account on this blog so that each of you could purchase one or hundred of my special acorns. Sadly, I didn’t get but a few takers for this ingenious plan but hey there is still time.

I am still thankful for the shade in the Summer but damn I am tired of being pelted by acorns and just wait, soon you will hear me bitching about raking leaves. Stay tuned.

 

 

About ends and beginnings blog

I am a frustrated writer and poet waiting to be discovered. A stand-up philosopher performing on a street corner near you. A Christian with questions but I don’t want to hear your answers. A Buddhist with a bumper sticker on my truck to prove it. A collector of quotes. A grower of lettuce. The Patron Saint of earthworms who name their children after me. A cyclist whose big ass strains the seams of his Lycra bibs. I am American by birth, Southern by the grace of God. My goal in life is to leave an imprint on the lives of the people I love not a footprint on the earth. I am a son, a husband, a father composed of 65%-Oxygen, 18%-Carbon, 10%-Hydrogen, 3%-Nitrogen, 3%-Diet Coke and 1%-Oreo.
This entry was posted in discover wp, Life, Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s Raining Acorns part II

  1. William Tell says:

    The sky is indeed falling, but I thought you were referring to a different nut.
    From 2006-2010 I lived in a certain neighborhood where the rat population was intense. However, the rats of most concern to me did not have four legs; they had two legs, weighed ~200 lbs., and “packed.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Smartygirl41 says:

    On the edge of my seat waiting for the leaf raking post…. 😉
    I’m pretty sure I’d go crazy listening to falling acorns all night long. The rats certainly gave me a good case of insomnia.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennie says:

    Great post, and we have an abundance of acorns in New England this year. I just hope your grandmother is wrong…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Whine, whine, whine…I’ll bet you fuss about shoveling snow, too. By the way have you ever tried acorn soup? Me neither. Just trying to think of ways to help you out with all those acorns. We have them here in Florida also….live oaks. The nasty squirrels sit up in their trees and use us for target practice tossing acorns.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Patty says:

    Maybe we could start a exchange-event, since they started to fall down here too…
    hihi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

